PDA

View Full Version : MATZ QFE Altimeter Setting - Query

Happy Wanderer
22nd May 2006, 09:58
Hi,

Some advice please from the guys in the know. . . .

I'm currently studying for my PPL and am taking my Nav exam tomorrow.

If on a x-country route you over-fly a MATZ at, say 4000ft, should the altimeter be automatically reset to the MATZ QFE, or should it be left on the relevant RPS?

Does the MATZ vertical altitude limit only come into play when proposing a MATZ penetration, ie given a vertical limit of 3000ft?

The above assumes that the MATZ vertical limit determines BOTH altimeter setting AND the need to establish radio contact - this may be a wrong assumption to make! - but clarification would be helpful.

Many thanks,

HW

Widger
22nd May 2006, 10:19
Happy Wanderer,At 4000' you should probably be on a Flight level as you are above the transition altitude.If lower (below 3000') and you decide to penetrate the MATZ, the sensible thing would be to contact the operator of that MATZ and fly in accordance with their instructions. If possible you should remain on the RPS, and this should be the norm unless they require you to set the QFE to ensure separation aginst traffic within the MATZ. Once you are clear of the MATZ, RPS should once again be set.

Pierre Argh
22nd May 2006, 12:31
A few gaps in the info given in the original question... You're not really asking for a MATZ Crossing at 4000ft, as in most if not all cases in the UK you'll be above the MATZ, so that doesn't count?

Is the NAVEX IFR or VFR? If the former then Widger is correct you should be flying at FL40 as it is above the TL for most areas in the UK?

I'll assume VFR, and that you'll be in Class G airspace... Radar service is not mandatory, but are you expecting to request one (which would have to be RIS as RAS is only available to IFR flights)... then the Controller will, probably, advise you on the setting they would prefer you to use (either QFE, QNH or RPS)?