PDA

View Full Version : Taking a GA flight in England (2)

MSBGAPilot
6th Apr 2006, 00:42
I just finalized my plans. I will be staying at Jurys Kensington from April 19th to April 28th. I do plan on seeing many of the sights London has to offer. I will not be renting a vehicle I will mainly use public transportation and bicycling. I see what you mean about the cost of general aviation flying in the UK vs US. Here I can rent a Cessne 172 wet from our local FBO for $75US(43UK) per hour. The club planes are even less expensive. For the funds to fly I am an Electrician for the State of Wisconsin Prison System.
I would still like to rent an C172 with a local Pilot of CFI. Is White Waltham going to be my best bet for this. My wife and daughter are staying home this trip, my wife just returned from Hawaii. I will be traveling with a friend(non-pilot) who also would like to visit London.
Thanks.
If anyone ever travels to EAA here in Oshkosh I usually open up my home to visitors. I live about 7 miles from the airport on Lake Winnebago. I've been doing this for about 11 years and quit charging people 9 years ago. We've always become good friends and I love meeting and hearing other people aviation stories.

Aussie Andy
6th Apr 2006, 06:51
G'day fella, well I hope you have a geat time visiting London. I would offer to take you flying myself while you're here but it looks like I will be away on business in the US (ironically) during your dates.

But I am will be surprised if there is no-one on PPRuNe local to London who wouldn't be able to help you out.

I would suggest that you also post your message with title "visiting yank looking for flight in London" on another forum which is specific to the UK: forums.flyer.co.uk (http://forums.flyer.co.uk)

I am sure you will enjoy how different the landscape looks from the air here versus the US...

Good luck!

Andy :ok:

BEagle
6th Apr 2006, 07:54