PDA

View Full Version : Pilots discretion approaches

Sturmvogel
6th Mar 2006, 14:22
I posted something last week re: aircraft approaching Stansted, as there is sometimes quite a lot of passing activity over Ware, where(!) I live, and as I'm a private pilot who flies in the area am interested in ATC issues but don't have much knowledge of 'heavy' ops for the airlines.
My query I hope a commercial pilot or ATC expert can help answer is -What discretion does a pilot have as to his approach path and height within EGSS runway 05 approach markers-is his/her exact height and approach path determined by himself/herself or dictated by NATS?
Anyone able to help-sorry if a dumb question but I only fly a non radio ragwing!

BOBBLEHAT
6th Mar 2006, 17:16
I think I posted a long and boring reply to this already but in simple terms, it is all strictly controlled and dominated by (very busy) surrounding airspace and relative location of other airports and their SIDS and STARS.

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
6th Mar 2006, 18:01
Not sure what you mean by "markers"..?? If you mean Outer, Middle and Inner... they were withdrawn from use many, many moons ago. Runway 05 at Stansted is equipped with ILS so commercial aircraft would expect to fly ILS approaches following vectoring by radar. Heights, headings and speeds in the intermediate approach are all strictly controlled, as is the speed once the aircraft is established. There are stringent noise restrictions around most major airports too so traffic would have to abide by these rules. In very basic terms, expect a commercial jet to be established on the ILS by about 8 miles from touchdown and then accurately fly the ILS to touchdown.