PDA

View Full Version : ATC Pack, Selection Day

ldsnodden
18th Jan 2006, 22:16
Hi,

Im fairly new to all of this, Im 18 and in my final year at college. Not studying physics or anything like that, Im doing travel and tourism.

But anyway, I have my assessment/test day on the 31st January having booked it a week ago after receiving an email from the NATS recruitment department.

I have been reading the information pack that they have sent me, and just have a question. Towards the back of the pack there are listings for most of the major aircraft that are used within the UK. Is it important that I learn all the flight levels and speeds?

Im well away on separation distances, types of airspace etc (the basic concepts), but am a little worried about the aircraft information.

I have even started watching air traffic control films like Jet to try and learn as much as I can!

Thanks in advance,
Liam

Gonzo
18th Jan 2006, 22:31
You will be asked questions on that booklet, including a/c performance (cruising levels, speeds etc), so best you try and learn them all.

Dances with Boffins
19th Jan 2006, 08:50
Put it this way. All the ones you don't learn will probably be the ones they question you on. Why take the risk?
Minimum effort is not a viable option if you want to learn how to be an ATCO. What is required is someone who has a plan to cover any eventuality and covers all the bases. Safe, Orderly and Expeditious, as a wise man once said...

Good luck:ok:

Bombay Bad Boy
19th Jan 2006, 10:45