PDA

View Full Version : NPPL restrictions

Lister Noble
28th Dec 2005, 07:20
Help needed please.
Talking to some pals about where I would like to visit when I obtain my NPPL and also after I have some more flying experience.
We used to sail to Alderney which is one of the nicest places we reckon we ever visited by sea.
The trouble is, I believe it's in French air space so does this mean I can't officially go there with my NPPL licence?

I think there are plans afoot to liberalise the rights of a NPPL in Europe,but that could take years.
Lister:D

J.A.F.O.
29th Dec 2005, 10:10
Mr Lister, Sir.

I'll start it off, so at least there's someone to shoot down in flames, if necessary.

I would think that you can't go to Alderney on an NPPL as it isn't UK airspace.

However if you had an NPPL (M) and any old microlight you like, well feel free Mr Lister, old chap.

Ridiculous.

mazzy1026
29th Dec 2005, 10:11
Lister - do the Noble thing and upgrade to JAA !!

:D :E

Lister Noble
29th Dec 2005, 15:31
Thanks guys,
Looks like I will have to be happy with UK airspace for a while unless I fly on a microlight licence,which then cuts out the older planes I want to fly.
Unless I had both microlight and NPPL licences?
Anyway by the time I'm ready to try the Channel Isles I think the rules may have changed,if not, then the old body permitting an upgrade to PPL seems logical.
The flight training and exams are almost identical it's just the medical that's tougher.
It's all a bit of a jungle type maze sorting out the "reasons" for these different licence privileges.

MikeJ
29th Dec 2005, 16:07
I have very often flown VFR to the CI, and I'd like to see an expert interpretation on this. For example, I have been definatively told by a manager at Guernsey Airport that the IMC rating is valid in the Jersey Zone. If the IMCR, why not the NPPL?