PDA

View Full Version : PPL License Issue Time Scale

ghandou
20th Dec 2005, 00:29
Hi guys,

I've just completed my PPL on the 08-Dec-05, I'm a complete newbie and of course excited about getting back up in the skies asap. Can someone please tell me when I should roughly expect my license through the door from the CAA? Cheers,

Jamie

wbryce
20th Dec 2005, 01:19
See link:

http://www.caa.co.uk/default.aspx?categoryid=137

This time of the year it should generally be around two weeks.

Happy flying,
will

skydriller
20th Dec 2005, 09:25
Firstly, Congratulations!

Additionally, You know I seem to recall you can still fly by yourself even without the licence in hand, right? I believe the restriction is you cannot fly with passengers until you have the licence in hand.

Regards, SD..

ghandou
20th Dec 2005, 10:42
Thanks guys.

Apparently it all depends on the school, at mine you're strictly grounded until you have your license in your hand, I know at some other you can fly without passengers but your instructor takes the PIC hours.

Anyways two weeks doesn't sound that bad.

Thanks again

Jamie

RodgerF
20th Dec 2005, 11:35

I know at some other you can fly without passengers but your instructor takes the PIC hours.

How?

skydriller
20th Dec 2005, 15:24
Jamie,

I dont know what you have been told or by whom, but I can assure you that if you are flying solo, ie with no instructor on board, YOU are the PIC and log P1 accordingly....

Regards, SD..

MyData
20th Dec 2005, 17:49
A timely post.

I completed my training and passed my skills test on 19th Nov. On the Monday (21st) posted my application with credit card details. Was told by the CFI that at this time of year it would only take a couple of weeks....

My credit card was charged within 2 days - so at least the registered post wasn't needed. I knew the application had been delivered.

Then today I was thinking - blimey, it's been almost a month of waiting for postie to arrive each day.