PDA

View Full Version : need some advice

happyvanchai
7th Nov 2005, 09:58
I'm a student controller now undergoing aerodrome control simulator training, and would like to seek some advice to improve my R/T techniques. I have memorized the standard phraseology, but sometimes I got them mix up during the exercises.

VectorLine
7th Nov 2005, 10:08
Practise, practise, practise.....

At home, draw yourself an airfield map and use some coins as aircraft. Move the 'aircraft' around the airfield and circuit while issuing R/T instructions.

Even better, get a few friends together and each of you take a turn at being controller/aircraft/vehicles. You can then help each other with situations and phraseology.

Good Luck

VL

rej
7th Nov 2005, 10:25
Vectorline is spot on

If you have a phraseology handbook (not sure if your civilian school produce one like they do at CATCS, the military school in the UK) record the aircraft transmission and leave a gap sufficiently long enough for you to reply, then record the correct response. Play it in the car, in the kitchen, on the toilet etc and compare your efforts with the correct RT. Keep it playing everywhere until:
a. you know it and
b. you feel comfortable using the RT.

sandstorm inferno
7th Nov 2005, 14:52
THINK

TRANSMIT

TALK

Pierre Argh
8th Nov 2005, 09:53
Practice.... it's abit like learning a script?

Think, switch, talk... good advise, you'll quickly find that you'll speed up.

Don't get too hung up it being a radio... you can use a telephone can't you? Standard phraseology covers essential phrases (and must be used for them) but cannot hope to cover everything you've got to say... and for those messages just imagine you're using a telephone?

Midland 331
8th Nov 2005, 12:25
Buy a cheap scanner and listen!

I end up asking my kids to "expedite", and "confirm ready immediate departure" out of habit.

Very sad...

Jerricho
8th Nov 2005, 13:59
Tee Hee.