PDA

View Full Version : Flying Instructors using the title Captain

Hopeful Harry
7th Apr 2005, 22:39
I've noticed at a few flying schools that some instructors use the title
Captain xxxxx and like to be addressed by that title. I find it pretentious and nauseous, it doesnot sit right when you then see Capt xxxxx climb into a C152. There is nothing wrong in being a C152 instructor but calling yourself Captain xxxxx seems rather arrogant and would put me off if I was a student.
What does everyone else think?

Say again s l o w l y
7th Apr 2005, 22:53
To be honest anyone who insists on being called Captain needs a dose of reality. Ego problems I reckon.

Anyway I much prefer my title of Grand High Poo-Bah. Conveys the right message I think.

Captain! Honestly....... You'll be telling me they wear 4 gold bars next! Oh ......

Whirlybird
8th Apr 2005, 09:26
At the school I'm at, trial lesson students get a certificate saying that Captain Whirlybird took them flying, and though nobody's commented on the fact that I don't wear four gold bars, I'm sure they'd be delighted if I did. I'm told that helicopter trial lesson students like it - it's often a one off, a big day, and the more razmatazz the better. I remain unconvinced, but like I said on another thread somwhere, if the the school wanted me to wear a teddy bear outfit I'd probably comply. :)

And actually I don't think I'd be that surprised either,

foxmoth
8th Apr 2005, 10:16
You may also find some instructors are actually Airline Captains instructing in their spare time and entitled to the rank (Though I suspect most of these are not the ones that insist on it being used:p ):hmm:

hugh flung_dung
8th Apr 2005, 10:52
This raises a couple of questions: is the term "Captain" a position or a title? what makes a Captain a Captain?

md 600 driver
8th Apr 2005, 11:00