PDA

View Full Version : question about the flight directors

ZC553043
13th Dec 2004, 09:47
hi every one !
i am a young chinese pilot, just change from B737-500 onto B737-800, a significant change on these two type is the flight instrument, especially the flight directors, the 500 i used to be on is using a old command bar, the 800 is using a new cross bar for the flight directors, at the very begin, i didn't got used to it . i often forget aboout the roll angle, cause the new one has not bank angle limitation on it. on the other hand the new one seems to be more sensitive. you guys here are so smart and kind pilots ,can you give me some suggestion about this? or canyou guys show me some articles or books about the two type of the flight directors?
thank you so much!!!

alexban
14th Dec 2004, 08:39
If I understood right you flew the 500 with V bar and now the 800 has xbar. There is no difference in how those two fd work,regarding bank limits,pitch ,etc.
It's just a matter of getting use to one of them. Pilots consider one or the other to be more accurate,depending on how they got accustomed to them.We have BAC1-11 pilots that love the Vbar (that was on the bac) and think this is the best FD. We have other pilots,first trained on the 737 with Xbar that consider this one to be the best.
Maybe the Vbar will give you a more intuitive picture of the situation,I guess,maybe it's easier to follow.
I think ,personal opinion,that the crossbar it's more accurate,but you'll have to monitor it closely,try to keep the bars in the box.If you'll let it slip ,it's maybe harder to bring the bars together as would've been with the Vbar. For a begginer,of course.
Once you get used to it you'll find it easy to use.
And don't try to blindely follow the FD.You should check the other indications ,speed,Vs...
Maybe one day the FD will fail,or ,more common,will give you some wrong command,you'll have to be aware of that.