PDA

View Full Version : Instructor - age limits

19th Oct 2004, 17:55
I understand - I could be wrong - that instructing up to 65 ok, commercial flying to 60.

Is this situation likely to change in the future? Thanks in advance for any comments, corrections or observations.

redbar1
19th Oct 2004, 18:32
Cron,

As your profile shows your location in the UK, I assume you are referring to JAR-FCL regs?

If so, there are no age limits to instructor ratings. The only age limits in FCL refers to Commercial Air Transport, something instructing is NOT.

There might be additional, national regulations, though. I am no expert on UK national reg's, but I am sure others here can inform you.

Cheers,
Redbar1

Whirlybird
19th Oct 2004, 21:10
redbar,

That's correct; there's no upper age limit for instructors in the UK.

BigEndBob
20th Oct 2004, 00:04
There should be an age limit where flying with pre solo students or trial lessons are concerned.

BEagle
20th Oct 2004, 07:11
Why? I thought that's why all UK FIs have to have JAA Class 1 medicals.....

There should perhaps be a minimum experience level for pre-solo and joy-ride, sorry, 'trial lesson' FIs.

covec
20th Oct 2004, 08:22
...although not commercial air "transport" [redbar1]; instructing is a "form" of commercial" flying in that you recieve remuneration for performing "aerial work": a recognised UK distinction...and it IS a profession...

redbar1
20th Oct 2004, 17:06
Covec,

Instructing surely is a profession! It should be in higher regard (and pay!). :ok: I did it for 4k hours, moved on, do other stuff, but still miss it ! (I must be forgetting the long hours and short pay... :\ )

cheers, and good luck to all active professional instructors out there!
redbar1

Sleeve Wing
21st Oct 2004, 10:46
BigEndBob.
Please don't put an age limit on FIs as well.
I had to leave my last job because someone (probably less fit than I am) decreed I was too old at 60 - I was just getting good at it.