PDA

View Full Version : A320 blank displays

jaja
3rd Jun 2004, 08:49
How many have had 6 (all) blank displays of the new LCD type on the A320. I know of 2 incidents.

Do any know the technical reason ?

BusBoy
3rd Jun 2004, 10:12
everytime I get on one. but rectifies itself when I turn the Brightness back up

Lemurian
3rd Jun 2004, 11:15
Gosh!That's how you do it.
I won't need to call the engineers every time I take an aircraft,now!

jaja
5th Jun 2004, 21:20
Well BusBoy, the one I know of, happened at night at FL380.

All 6 screens were not usefull for almost 10 minutes ! (off ~40 sec/on 3-4 sec). Then finally a full reset off all 6 screens recovered them.

Golden Parrot
5th Jun 2004, 22:35
Lost the F/O PFD on a 330 once. Took 3 resets to get it back. They still look nicer than the old CRTs though!

mjv
6th Jun 2004, 00:30
hard to belive, 6 screens blank! but I am an Engineer anyhow:ok:

Very unlikely to have 3 faulty DCU’s!! but if the cooling is not working for some reason, it will be a different story.

Its very easy to have the cooling inlets blocked (dust)!
Quick fix: pull the CB’s for a couple of minutes and get the FLT deck temperature down.

Brgds

mjv

PIA747
6th Jun 2004, 02:56
I guess nothing beats the old fashioned dials.

idg
6th Jun 2004, 04:27
JJ
This is caused by one (or more) DU sending corrupted data back to the DMC or another DU. This corrupted data is not recognised by the system and thus causes a hardware reset....hence the blank screens. Recovery, if the system does not auto-recover, is (as I suspect you already know!) to turn off all the screens and reset then sequentially one by one until the duff unit is isolated.

Not looking forward to this one I must say, but AI claim they have a fix ready now. Interesting to see how long it takes to be installed.

jaja
7th Jun 2004, 11:56
idg