PDA

View Full Version : Tax, National Insurance and Self employed FIs

orionsbelt
2nd Feb 2004, 07:38
Tax, National Insurance and Self employed FIs

Any part time FIs out there had any Involvement with the UK tax people over Tax /NI contributions.
ie, being properly registered as self employed, paying the due tax on flight pay and either paying or exempt Class 2 / full contribution.
However the tax people now raising issues re NI and Self employment status.
Any experiences would be welcome

Cheers
Orion

Field In Sight
2nd Feb 2004, 15:54
Where have you seen the IR raising issues regarding instructors being self employed?

You have made a good point though!

I work part time as an instructor at the weekends self employed.

Also, currently in the week I work full-time on a 3 mth IT contract and have to pay PAYE plus employers & employees NI contributions due to the IR35 ruling.

However, in March I go back to instructing full-time as an instructor and I can't see the why that would be treated any differently to my current job.

Any views?

FIS

orionsbelt
2nd Feb 2004, 19:11
Hi FiS

Have droped you a pm, with more details

Cheers Orion

Ludwig
2nd Feb 2004, 22:52
I'm sure somewhere in the depth of pprune this has been done before. Never mind here goes.

This is directly from the Inland Revenue website:

www.inlandrevenue.gov.uk/pdfs/ir56.htm

Employed or self-employed?

Employed

If you can answer 'Yes' to the following questions, you are probably employed.

Do you yourself have to do the work rather than hire someone else to do it for you?
Can someone tell you at any time what to do or when and how to do it?
Are you paid by the hour, week, or month? Can you get overtime pay?
Do you work set hours, or a given number of hours a week or month?
Do you work at the premises of the person you work for, or at a place or places he or she decides?
Self-employed

If you can answer 'Yes' to the following questions, it will usually mean you are self-employed.