PDA

View Full Version : 1000ft key point

dynamite dean
30th Oct 2001, 21:57
I am an Instructor.A student said to me the other day who ever worked this keypoint out and does it take into accoutn the varying wind conditions ? And my next question he was at his keypoint didn't put the flap down and missed the field, he said to me why you little ****** you told me at 1000ft agl we would make the field the wind was very strong 30kt - cherokee I fly.

Am I missing the point? Is wind irrelevent or is there some more mathmatical way that this 1000ft keypoint was ascertained? help I am not an airline pilot yet!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

[ 30 October 2001: Message edited by: dynamite dean ]

wysiwyg
30th Oct 2001, 22:55
You'll probably find the answers you want on the instructors forum.

Oktas8
31st Oct 2001, 02:10
No doubt this will be moved to the Instructor forum shortly. In the mean time, perhaps some comments would be helpful.

The forced landing is one of the most detailed and longest briefings, which I won't attempt to reproduce here. Important points however:

Low key is simply "the end of the downwind leg". It may be 1000'agl or any other height, depending on aircraft type. It exists because it is generally easier to land from the end of the downwind leg than from anywhere else - it is the most familiar point from which to commence the approach. Thus, get the student to navigate to low key, and you maximise his/her chances of successfully landing. Not "guarantee", just "maximise"!

Flap selection: flap should not be used to "make it in". If no flap was used, your aircraft should touch down about halfway down the field. Use of flap simply slows the aircraft to minimise landing roll, and moves the aim point to the beginning of the field to maximise landing distance available. This technique avoids students depending on flap as a replacement for good judgement.