PDA

View Full Version : Licencing an airfield

topcat450
11th Sep 2003, 17:32
Morning,

I was just wondering exactly what is involved with licencing an airfield? There are a number of established, popular airfields which are unlicenced & I was wondering the reasons for not licencing themselves (or what they'd have to do to become licenced)?

I know every 'field is different, but I'd have thought the ability to base schools there & allow training would be a half-decent way to get more money?

Circuit Basher
11th Sep 2003, 17:40
I'm not an expert on this, but had cause to look at some of the issues involved when made aware of a potential business benefit if a currently unlicensed field were to be licensed.

Factors include:

Fire Cover
First Aid Cover
A/G or FIS Operators
Emergency Planning
Safety Plans / Run Off Areas
Security
Planning Permission
Community Relations
Environmental Considerations
Airfield Access

Not any one terrifically difficult thing, but some of these can incur a great deal of capital outlay / recurrent expenses. Some unlicensed airfields would be very difficult to license because of inadequate safety areas / local obstructions.

At the end of the day, the business case for going through the process has to look at the long term (10 yrs+) before going into the capital investment. Takes a lot of 'what if' and contingency planning, together with developing a diverse range of activities at the airfield to support it during the lean times.

srs what?
11th Sep 2003, 18:38
Below is a link to the CAP168 Licensing of Aerodromes (2.8mb) and a link to all other CAA Publications relevant to licensing an airfield.

CAP168 Licensing of Aerodromes (http://www.caa.co.uk/docs/33/CAP168.pdf)

CAA Aerodrome Standards (http://www.caa.co.uk/publications/publications.asp?action=subcat&id=3)

formationfoto
13th Sep 2003, 23:55
WHY WHY WHY?