PDA

View Full Version : Math Moron stumped - off track problem!

sneetch
10th Sep 2003, 15:05
Hi all!
I'm a student PPL and just a complete mathmatecal dullard.
This (probably very simple) navigation problem has me a little confused. Here it is:

You are 4nms left of track and 30nms later are 2nms right of track with 20nms to go to your destination. What is the required heading alteration to make your destination?

Please help ........ I'd be very grateful.
You will win naming rights to my first born child if you will please just help me to understand!!! ...... I Promise.

:ok:

PPPPP
10th Sep 2003, 15:40
I made it 17.7 degrees left (nearly).

(12 deg off heading at the waypoint, 6 deg more to turn to destination.)

Similar triangles seems to mean you are 2 nm off track to the right with a baseline of 10nm, so your deviation is (90-(tan-1 10/2) ) deg.
You are 2nmright with 20 to go so you need a further (tan-1 2/20) degrees left.
My , its a long time since I did trig so this could be complete pants...

(edited to justify my answer<G>)
(again to correct duff typing)

GroundBound
10th Sep 2003, 15:43
I think it’s the following, but I would need to do a trig check to be sure.

You have moved 6 nm from left to right, in a distance of 30nm. In other words your actual track is 12 degrees to the right of the desired track.

So, to turn parallel to your track you need a left turn of 12 degrees.

Now you need to regain the 2nm right of track in the next 20 nm, (or 6nm in 60nm), so that's a correction of 6 degrees to the left of the desired track.

So its 12 degrees plus 6 degrees, 18 degrees to the left.

Apologies if this is wrong and someone else can tell you better.

Please don't name your child GroundBound, I'd hate to condemn a poor kid to that for the rest of his/her life.

Wunper
10th Sep 2003, 15:44
Sneech

Answer
18 degrees heading change required to the left.

All based on 1 in 60 rule and similar triangles