PPRuNe Forums

PPRuNe Forums (https://www.pprune.org/)
-   The Pacific: General Aviation & Questions (https://www.pprune.org/pacific-general-aviation-questions-91/)
-   -   When noise complaints turn nasty. (https://www.pprune.org/pacific-general-aviation-questions/532465-when-noise-complaints-turn-nasty.html)

MakeItHappenCaptain 22nd Jan 2014 12:26

When noise complaints turn nasty.
 
Caravan UMV has a new paint job at Tyagrah.
"No Noise" & "F*ck You" have been painted up the side, paint thrown over the windscreen and a couple of holes punched through the tanks.

Fcukers...:=

Old Akro 22nd Jan 2014 12:37

So much for the new airport security arrangements.

Bummer

sarge75 22nd Jan 2014 13:11

What scumbags.

That drop zone does everything it can to try and limit the noise.

Ultralights 22nd Jan 2014 20:18

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.n...32633077_n.jpg

mattyj 22nd Jan 2014 21:09

Is that a swastika? Really!?

Someone lend them a c185 with 2 blades while the van gets fixed..that'll show how lucky they are..bloody nimby's

just a dumb pilot 22nd Jan 2014 22:01

Interesting new craze a helicopter and 2 aircraft were tagged at Moorabbin recently.
One aircraft was a jump plane, all were cleaned up within 24 hours.
Security cameras were operational and pictures found.
These D H's wouldn't know the implications of what they did it's a bit more of a fine than wilful damage and I doubt they would have had ASIC's which are a lot like gun licences only the honest people have them to confirm their honesty.
Hope they catch these clowns before it gets to sabotaging the aircraft and some poor ASIC holder gets hurt.

VH-XXX 22nd Jan 2014 22:23

All you would need at Moorabbin to do this would be the 4 digit access code and away you go. Ride past the cameras on your push bike and nobody will ever catch you. It's sad with so much security that it's bordering on useless for someone with half a brain.

Jabawocky 22nd Jan 2014 22:43

Deplorable x1000

I'll bet someone will know and will spill their guts if asked. Just got to find them, and there will be a few more of them as word spreads.

:(

Check_Thrust 22nd Jan 2014 22:46


Someone lend them a c185 with 2 blades while the van gets fixed..that'll show how lucky they are..bloody nimby's
Better yet, give them a BN2 Islander.

Although I doubt it will happen I hope they catch these mongrels and if they do they better enforce the maximum penalties upon them.

Snakecharma 22nd Jan 2014 22:49

The insurance company should seize their assets to pay for the damage if they can find the culprits.

They will likely only have a packet of durries, a half empty six pack and a banged up holden commodore, but if they are kids you could have a crack at mum and dad's house.

Capt Fathom 22nd Jan 2014 22:58


a couple of holes punched through the tanks
Interestingly they knew where the fuel tanks are. It's not obvious to non-aviation people! Unless they have been observing...

Fantome 22nd Jan 2014 23:41

SEND IN THE CLOWNS


If the fuzz have not already called at every house from which a noise complaint has been made in recent years they are derelict in their duty.

Some highly sensitive residents have rung up to complain about a glider too close overhead. True. The answer for the skydivers might be a couple of Rottweillers. It will never be a security airfield. At least this century.

It has been alleged that some of the C208 pilots have operated the plane
with less consideration than others. But that is only hearsay.

There is a popular nudist beach a mile away. But that is not likely to be related.

The perpetrator or perpetrators are near the very bottom of the food chain.
Their dabs are more likely to be there than not.

djpil 22nd Jan 2014 23:58

Similar incident at Moorabbin recently, I believe.

sarge75 23rd Jan 2014 00:56

Alleged by whom??

They climb out to sea and back again, only in the circuit area for take off and landings.

Unless things have changed drastically, this has nothing to do with the pilots but rather some yuppies from near Byron thinking that the world is theirs and a long established business has no right to operate near them.

God I hope they catch these pricks and throw the book at them

RatsoreA 23rd Jan 2014 01:41


God I hope they catch these pricks and throw the book at them
Couldn't agree more...

On a more disturbing note -


As Capt F alluded to here someone knows more than the average graffiti nut by disabling the A/C for more than just a days clean up value
How do they know that they didn't chuck a handful of loose nuts and bolts and rocks in the inlet of the engine?

You can't protect an airfield. Even in wartime, they knew that. The only thing they have a hope of protecting is the expensive bit, the airplane!

peterc005 23rd Jan 2014 01:47

CIVIL AVIATION ACT 1988 - SECT 24

Interference with crew or aircraft
(1) A person commits an offence if:

(a) the person does an act; and

(b) the act:

(i) interferes with a crew member of an aircraft in the course of the performance of his or her duties as such a crew member; or

(ii) threatens the safety of an aircraft or of persons on board an aircraft.

Penalty: Imprisonment for 2 years.

(2) A person must not tamper with:

(a) an aircraft; or

(b) an aeronautical product that is of such a type that tampering with it may endanger the safety of an aircraft or any person or property;

if tampering with it may endanger the safety of the aircraft or any person or property.

Penalty: Imprisonment for 2 years.

*** In this case the penalty should include sharing a jail cell with a hairy, obese and randy person with same-sex intimate preferences. ***

onetrack 23rd Jan 2014 01:54

Lets get the information straight. This is not simple graffitti or mindless vandalism, it's an immediately identifiable (if poorly-thought-out) protest - and the aviation people in that neck of the woods need to realise their "harmless fun" is impacting on some people lives so largely, that they feel the need to take this drastic action.

If the aviation people concerned don't take serious action to remedy the problem and recognise that our recreational behaviours can seriously impact on other people lives, then it will only get worse, and lives may be lost.

I wonder if the aviation people involved here would enjoy a jetskier blasting past their bedroom 30 times a day when they're trying to get some sleep after having done night shift?
A large % of our society sleeps during the day, and needs to have their requirements of modest noise levels observed.

sarge75 23rd Jan 2014 02:05

One track.

You are right, we should stop all forms of aviation, every airport has noise issues. Those that move next door to an airstrip should have the right to close it down.

All airports should be relocated at least 10 miles from the nearest neighbour.

Problem solved.

lilflyboy262...2 23rd Jan 2014 02:41

Sarge just beat me to it.

You move next to an airport, expect aircraft landing and taking off.

Its like living next to train tracks, expect to have trains going past.

You can't move to a place.... and then complain about the noise of something that is already established there.

onetrack 23rd Jan 2014 03:26

Byron Shire council information is that "Tyagarah Aircraft Landing Area is not a certified or registered Airfield in accordance with the Civil Aviation Safety Regulation Part 139" :rolleyes: :hmm:

Tyagarah Airfield - Byron Shire Council

Capn Bloggs 23rd Jan 2014 03:58


Originally Posted by lilflyboy262...2 from Canada
You move next to an airport, expect aircraft landing and taking off.

Its like living next to train tracks, expect to have trains going past.

You can't move to a place.... and then complain about the noise of something that is already established there.

What evidence do you have that this operation was in place before the complainants moved into the area?

RAC/OPS 23rd Jan 2014 04:13

Yeah, Lilflyboy from Canada! Of course Sarge is from Straya so knows our unique noise problems with airfields and complaining neighbours does not happen anywhere else in the world....

Capn Bloggs - what's your point?

kalavo 23rd Jan 2014 04:21


What evidence do you have that this operation was in place before the complainants moved into the area?
Bit unrealistic to expect a Canadian to know the exact circumstances of one airfield in Australia.

The skydiving operation has been at Tyagarah for 20 years, the airfield is about 43 years old. Average age of first home owner being 30, would put the average complainant who bought before the airfield was opened in their 70s...

I can't exactly see a 70+ year old inflicting what has been done here?

RatsoreA 23rd Jan 2014 04:22


What evidence do you have that this operation was in place before the complainants moved into the area?
It's not my post, but I would guess there would be an assumption that they must be quite new to the area, as there has been a wide variety of skydiving aircraft (I personally know of Queenairs, Navajos, Senecas, 182s, PAC750's and the caravan in question) over at least the better part of 20 years. All the aircraft I have seen take off and head straight out over the water and climb there.

And either way, it doesn't matter what side of the arguement you come down on, nothing gives anybody the right to do that. If you don't like the noise my car makes as I drive home at night, does that give you the right to go and cut my brakes? There are (legal!) avenues for complaining about noise.
My personal opinion is they can go and :mad: themselves, and harden up a little bit. 30 seconds of a slightly elevated decible level once an hour during daylight hours warrants such disgusting behaviour? I don't think so. :=

Capn Bloggs 23rd Jan 2014 04:24


Capn Bloggs - what's your point?
The canadian is obviously accusing the complainants of moving in after the operation started, and therefore have no right to complain (with which I agree). I am merely asking him what evidence he has that that is actually the case ie that the op was there before the noise complainers moved in.

Or were the hillbillies there first?


Bit unrealistic to expect a Canadian to know the exact circumstances of one airfield in Australia.
He posted it, so he must be an expert on the situation...

RAC/OPS 23rd Jan 2014 04:31

I'll spell it out just in case Lilflyboy thinks I'm having a go. I know for a fact that there is an active noise lobby at most airfields in the UK. I would bet that there is similar in Canada, the US, and probably most other countries where sport, recreational and even public transport aviation takes place.

Some of you blokes are giving the impression that it's an Australian problem and no one from ignorant overseas is allowed to express an opinion.

Parochial is one word that springs to mind!

j3pipercub 23rd Jan 2014 04:35

I think lbf262 might be a NZer

Flying with some awful crew is trip Bloggs?

RAC/OPS 23rd Jan 2014 04:36

....And in my experience that is the age old argument - the airport was there first, so anyone moving close by since has no grounds to complain - couldn't agree more. And as I know that Tyagarah was a PJE operation as long ago as the early 80's it is quite likely that most people have moved there since.

And that happens overseas as well, you know!

Why didn't you ask Sarge for his reasoning?

VH-XXX 23rd Jan 2014 04:47

At our airfield we had a local that complained about the Tiger Moth flying over his house. The Tiger Moth very rarely ever follows the same flight path so in reality he was probably only flown over once or maybe twice a weekend.

He turned up one weekend and was using his phone to take closeup photos of the pilots, employeed and customers in the office, so he was upsetting customers. Once of the local pilots challenged him doing it and the complainant punched him in the face. No charges were laid however I don't believe he has complained since.

It's disappointing when complainants believe that they need to take it to the next level like this guy did.

Sunfish 23rd Jan 2014 05:07

If its near Byron, its robably a couple of old hippy stoners that did it. There are some very nasty types up there. I suggest the cops look for someone who has recently moved into the area.

P.S. THe Byron hardware store may have CCTV footage of someone buying blue marking spray paint, caan't be too much of that around.

Capn Bloggs 23rd Jan 2014 05:18

Gee willikers you lot, all I was asking was some facts from the Canadian to back up his position/claim (not opinion). Now a universal-expert-on-noise-at-all-the-world's-airfields pops up accusing me of being parochial.

500N 23rd Jan 2014 05:19

Word will filter out. People like this will brag about it to mates
so eventually the names are likely to become known.

AussieNick 23rd Jan 2014 05:32

@RAC/OPS: Before jumping down lilflyboy262's throat, have you considered he may be an Aussie living in Canada......

Irrespective of weather the operation was there before or after folks moved in to the area and began to have issues with noise etc etc, vandalizing an aircraft, not to mention any tampering that we, on the forum, cannot see from the photo, is no way to get a resolution to any perceived problems.

I see the Tyagarah airfield has a number to call for noise complaints, they should have taken their complaint there. Not damaged an aircraft that has the potential to now cost a local business thousands of dollars, cost the pilot/pilots and other staff money as they cannot operate. Has the potential to drive other owners and users of the airfield away as they now cannot be confident their aircraft will be safe and secure, which could again, potentially remove more money from the community, all because someone threw a tanty.

RAC/OPS 23rd Jan 2014 06:02

AussieNick - I was defending Lilflyboy's statement. Another poster seems to have a problem with someone from not Australia having his say. I was trying to point out that noise problems are more universal than some of the more insular would believe.

Pinky the pilot 23rd Jan 2014 06:19

Never had that sort of action here but one time a somewhat annoyed female walked into the local Gliding Club's office to complain about the tugs overflying her newly constructed house and upsetting their peace!

The Office Manager quietly asked her; ''Why on earth did you build a house right under the circuit area of an operational airfield, and one that has been so for about the last thirty years?''

The answer was along the lines of......'ummm....errr....':confused:

She left the office without saying another word.

Ultralights 23rd Jan 2014 06:57


''Why on earth did you build a house right under the circuit area of an operational airfield, and one that has been so for about the last thirty years?''
because its cheap! and with enough complaining and whinging, the airport will close, just ask the real estate agent he told me so, when airport closes = Profit!


and the aviation people in that neck of the woods need to realise their "harmless fun" is impacting on some people lives so largely, that they feel the need to take this drastic action.
as is most often the case, the serial noise complainers who are so adversely impacted by severe aircraft noise, have been proven, time and time again, that they are serial complainers with no hard evidence to back up their whinging. Take Sonja from wollongong, she generated 95% of all aircraft complaints when living at Bankstown, her husband generated 4%.

She has since moved on, and bought approx 500mtrs beside the approach to runway 26 at Wollongong, next to a train line. and sure enough, the complaints come rolling in.

Myself and another sky dive operator there have been called by Council to answer her allegations of us deliberately flying over her house when departing runway 26, (my aircraft is similar paint scheme to the skydive aircraft) she claimed on a certain days we deliberately tracked off centreline and directly over her house.
fortunately for myself and the skydive operator, the GPS has a long track memory. proving neither of our aircraft never used runway 26/08 on the days in question and every time since, we have been proving her wrong with factual track info.

Another was at a small airfield on the south coast, many lawsuits later, and many taxpayer funds wasted, sound recordings done independently proved that the aircraft noise from the complainants locations (there were a group of complainers who went as far as forming an association to complain) didn't even register above background noise. their logic seams to be, i can see it, therefore i hear it and must complain as it effects me... (despite court ordered evidence to the contrary).

these types complain for the sake of complaining, and sadly, these types do have issues that lead them to believe they are being adversely effected by aircraft noise that drives them to commit such acts.

Old Wannabe 23rd Jan 2014 07:55

Airport noise
 
Folks may very well remember the attempt by a noisy few who live close by the Caloundra airport a few years back to close that airport due to “noisy and dangerous” operation of aircraft, primarily rotary aircraft. At the time Chopperline bent over backwards to appease this very vocal minority. In about 2011 the local Council (who administer the airport) and the State Government (who own the airport) tipped a bucket of cold water on the debate by ruling that the airport stays.
On 16 Jan 2014 and letter appeared in the local paper (Caloundra Weekly) which I feel I must transcribe here as evidence of the mentality of these airport noise protestors. It reads:

“Words drowned out.
BELLS Reach and Belvista residents need to know that Noosa Council has just voted to restrict helicopters using Teewah air strip.
If Saturday, January 11 and Sunday 12th’s activity is a guide, 40-plus movements on Saturday and 40-plus movements on Sunday, these operators have already relocated.
“Becker” had two machines, and there was also a blue and yellow contraption operating continuously on both days over the estates. During this time it was impossible to have a conversation on the verandah.
Our local councilor does not live in the area and I suspect will do nothing or little about the situation, but I for one will not give up until we receive the consideration and respect we deserve from these operators and council.
People power can change this, and I think we can.
Shouldn’t be too hard: phone calls, letters, email, Facebook, Twitter, use whatever means you can to put an end to this blatant abuse of our privacy and rights."
(signed) Maurie Woodward, Belvista

As you well know Mr. Woodward, the Caloundra airport has been there for some 40 years. Belvista was developed in the last 10 to 15 years and Bells Reach only opened last year. You knew there was an airport there and you choose to live there. Residents of Bells Reach have to sign a disclaimer when purchasing acknowledging that their properties are as close as 60 metres to the runway and cannot complain about noise.

Regarding the Noosa Councils statement that they are banning all except emergency movements are the Teewah airstrip, good luck guys. The airstrip is owned by the National Parks and situated within a National Park. The closest house is a few kilometres from the airstrip and the toffee nosed wingers in the Noosa area are only complaining about aircraft overflying their homes (legally) at 1000 + feet. I am not a pilot but am sick and tired of the winging, wailing and lies issuing from this brainless minority who have nothing better to do with their lives. Sometimes I wonder if they really do have a life at all.

RatsoreA 23rd Jan 2014 08:00

Idiots everywhere
 
Look no further than here for the types of idiots that are out there looking for something to complain about -

Index

Ultralights -


deliberately tracked off centreline and directly over her house
Can you please tell me exactly where this CCL house is, so when I am next in the Gong, I can ... ah ... take special precautions to ...err... AVOID overflying?! :}


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:54.


Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.