PPRuNe Forums

PPRuNe Forums (https://www.pprune.org/)
-   The Pacific: General Aviation & Questions (https://www.pprune.org/pacific-general-aviation-questions-91/)
-   -   When noise complaints turn nasty. (https://www.pprune.org/pacific-general-aviation-questions/532465-when-noise-complaints-turn-nasty.html)

500N 25th Jan 2014 00:56

Akro

Didn't the Vic State Gov't fix the issue via law regarding complaints
about Tullamarine ?

65er 25th Jan 2014 02:01

Security seems lax just about everywhere i go.
Caloundra a good case in point - gates left open, inadequate fencing, and broken combination security locks. Surely the local council is responsible for at least a modicum of maintenance considering what they charge the local building / land lessees.
A bit more security may have helped limit the loss of fuel from my aircraft parked there :*

Fris B. Fairing 25th Jan 2014 04:07

Speaking of Caloundra ...

http://www.adastron.com/aviation/vault/ycdr-noise.jpg

These have been distributed in recent weeks despite the 2010 announcements by the Council and the Qld Govt that the airport stays.

:ugh::ugh::ugh::ugh:

spinex 25th Jan 2014 04:25

Oh goodie, another email address to hand over to the spam merchants:p
[email protected]

Sadly though these oxygen thieves can't just be ignored, they tread a well worn path of a noisy minority swaying the pollies who can't see beyond the next election - next thing you know 2% of the population have [email protected]&% it for the rest of us.

Jabawocky 25th Jan 2014 06:38

Hang on a minute, they want above 1500' do they? So how do you land or take off. CCT height is 1000' at YCDR.

Maybe everyone should fly choppers up there......they can orbit up and down over the airfield :}

Morons :ugh:......Airfield was there long before the developers sold land to the idiots.

:mad:

yssy.ymel 25th Jan 2014 07:47

Slightly OT, but this is the sort of d*ckhead that causes the problem:

Angry Kellyville resident Henry Romanowski is the city's expert at airing grievances | News.com.au

Two thirds of the complaints, and 31 km from the threshold. If I recall correctly, approach is at or above 9000' at that point. There are very few departures that would even affect him.

And doesn't he just look smug.

emergency000 25th Jan 2014 09:13

I guess he has to do something in his boredom now that he's obviously retired... *coughtwatcough*

scrufflefish 25th Jan 2014 10:19

"Who owns UMV now? McV or....."

Update: UMV is owned by McV, it was apparently flown in the day before the incident to replace Byron Skydive's aircraft which was away for maintenance, it has now returned.
Very bad luck for Al.

JustJoinedToSearch 27th Jan 2014 01:54

Should just print out CAR157, highlight:

(4) Subregulation (1) does not apply if:
(e) the aircraft is flying in the course of actually taking-off or landing at an aerodrome; or

Add a nice friendly smiley face and pin it right on the bottom.

Tinstaafl 27th Jan 2014 04:08

Include Sub-reg 1. with the 1000' minimum too. Subreg 1. could be pinned next to their 1500' verbiage.

MakeItHappenCaptain 27th Jan 2014 10:20


Caloundra Aerodrome Fly Neighbourly Policy

Helicopter Operations
As an operator of Helicopter Operations at Caloundra Aerodrome _____________________________ is committed to undertaking operations in a Fly Neighbourly manner. We commit to undertake our operations in a manner which is considerate to local residents whilst maintaining safe operation of the helicopter.
We will do so by endeavouring to adhere to the following principles:
 All pilots to plan all flights to minimise flights over built up areas
 Wherever possible, use satellite strips for helicopter circuit operations
 Avoid flying low over populated areas
 Avoid tight manoeuvres and turns while operating helicopters over populated areas
 Oval circuits at 500ft for helicopters is preferred remaining within the airport boundary where possible
 A maximum of 5 aircraft in the circuit area at any time
 No training to occur between the hours of 1900 and 0700
 Night training available for Caloundra based operators between 1900 and 2100 Monday to Friday only
 Ensure that environmental and noise issues are included in pilot training
 Respond to community enquiries about noise in a co-operative manner

Fixed Wing Operations
As an operator of general aviation activities at Caloundra Aerodrome ____________________________ is committed to undertaking operations in a Fly Neighbourly manner. We commit to undertaking our operations in a manner which is considerate to local residents, whilst maintaining safe operation of the aircraft.
We will do so by endeavouring to adhere to the following principles:
 Compliance with noise abatement procedures included in the ERSA
 All pilots to plan all flights to minimise flight over built up areas
 Wherever practicable runway departure to use full length in order to maximise height over populated areas
 Consider using satellite strips for aircraft circuit operations
 Avoid flying low over populated areas
 Minimise engine failure training over populated areas
 No training to occur between the hours of 1900 and 0700
 Night training available for Caloundra based operators between 1900 and 2100 Monday to Friday only
 No engine ground running for the purpose of engine testing to occur between the hours of 1900 and 0700 (unless approved by the Airport General Manager for extenuating circumstances)
 Ensuring that all non pre flight engine runs are undertaken in the designated run-up area
 Ensuring that environmental awareness and noise issues are included in pilot training
 Responding to community inquiries about noise in a cooperative manner.
Funny, their own fly neighbourly policy doesn't say anything about their 1,500' limit (that is "NOT OK" and referenced in their propaganda).

Ps. Personally, I liked low level circuits, especially at 11am on a Sunday morning, right after an abusive phone call about how inconsiderate I was for disturbing a late morning sleep in.:E

emergency000 27th Jan 2014 10:46


We never seem to see people who buy houses next to railway lines campaign for their closure. Or freeways. Or industrial complexes.
Around Melbourne there are numerous places on our freeways with signs which say "TRUCKS AVOID USING ENGINE BRAKES". These are always around a downhill gradient (when said trucks NEED to use said engine brakes to maintain a safe speed) and are almost always where residential areas have been built directly adjacent to the freeway.

A personal favourite of mine when I've done the occasional drive of a B-double up the Hume is passing Beveridge on the way back into Melbourne around 7-8 am on a Saturday morning. There's another of these signs there. So, of course, because it's a downhill gradient, I ensure I click my engine brakes on :E Can't have trucks speeding now, can we?

Speaking of, a few years ago there was some uni student who'd just moved into a house that's on one of the main thoroughfares for trucks in Melbourne and he was whinging to the paper about how he couldn't get any sleep. Nevermind that there's a curfew in place on the road between 6 pm - 6 am... Obviously, being a student, he was up all night and trying to sleep all day.

So airports aren't the only ones copping a whack. I'm sure railways and heavy industry come in for a serve now and again, but all these are nothing when it comes to the angst directed at airports.

yssy.ymel 1st Feb 2014 01:41

I see UMV doing a few circuits at YRED on FlightAware. Looks like she's been patched up and ready to head back down south to annoy the locals.

cattletruck 1st Feb 2014 02:02

Having once lived up them neck of the woods I used to enjoy the sound of an F-111 doing a low level practice bombing run near Evans Head :ok:

Now that is noise!

My friend who was born in Byron Bay used to say the place was full of brats from Sydney rebelling against their rich parents. That was my observation too.

Just ignore their protests much like their parents, and if you catch them then teach them a thing or two about adult life.

Jabawocky 1st Feb 2014 05:27


Wherever possible, use satellite strips for helicopter circuit operations
Yeah......so the complaints are then at YRED or YCAB :rolleyes:

Great idea.

MakeItHappenCaptain 1st Feb 2014 10:57


Wherever possible, use satellite strips for helicopter circuit operations.
They do that at Sunshine Coast, using Teewah strip, a set of small crossed runways to the north in a national park area with less people permanently living near it than on the Sun (North Koreans excepted:E) and yet there is a massive push from Noosa residents to get its use prohibited.

Why?

Transiting helicopters. I believe part of the council's separation from the "amalgamated councils situation" propaganda was that "we will stop the overflights and use of the strip!"

A. Teewah strip. It's in a national park. Council has less say in it than Kevvy at a Jooliar fan convention.

B. Overflying. See statement A.

:ugh::ugh::rolleyes::hmm:

Jabawocky 1st Feb 2014 13:07

And one day when they need a medivac team in a helo, are they going to complain about the noise coming to get them? :hmm:

:ugh:

Lancair70 1st Feb 2014 20:34

Noise complaints at Tyagarah are not new at all.
We had complaints when I flew skydivers there in the late 80's and VH-DPI was a HELL of lot noisier and slower to climb than the C208's.

Maybe the current owners need to install security like Cptn Ron L had. Two fierce dobermans let loose in the hanger at night. Maybe they need some deterents chained up around the van ?

And totally agree, that an hour of ICUS with Al, would have them calling the cops :ouch: I've witnessed new trainee pilots leave, after session with Al in a C182, almost in tears after he stripped any sense of "Sky God" like thinking from them. Some deserved it and some just rubbed him the wrong way.

Freewheel 3rd Feb 2014 09:21

Jaba,

They already do......

Flying Binghi 3rd Feb 2014 10:14


via emergency000:
...A personal favourite of mine when I've done the occasional drive of a B-double up the Hume is passing Beveridge on the way back into Melbourne around 7-8 am on a Saturday morning. There's another of these signs there. So, of course, because it's a downhill gradient, I ensure I click my engine brakes on Can't have trucks speeding now, can we?...
Yep, its a nice feeling when yer got the backup of cool wheel brakes..;)

Some do overdo it though...



All times are GMT. The time now is 22:26.


Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.