PPRuNe Forums

PPRuNe Forums (https://www.pprune.org/)
-   Middle East (https://www.pprune.org/middle-east-44/)
-   -   EK Salary Review Time Again (https://www.pprune.org/middle-east/646395-ek-salary-review-time-again.html)

felixthecat 1st May 2022 14:04

So to add yet more detail for you….

I stated FR, I didn’t state if it was for 737 or Learjet until I added more information. I didn’t state if it was captains or FOs either but the Learjet position is for captains.
OneAir have taken several EK pilots who have started already and the package is more than 90K. Even if that was it, its better than driving a supermarket van on minimum wage. They have also taken many pilots without 747 ratings.
Norse don’t require you to have an EASA licence if you are going to be UK based, only if European based.
And DHL is still on a UK FCL if you want it.

If you wish to split more hairs feel free….

No not the worlds best options but there are jobs out there, but it is indeed easier if you have the EASA licence, and all in all its much easier than last year.

aviatorLeo 1st May 2022 15:00


Originally Posted by paule737 (Post 11222391)
You must be pretty desperate to return/apply to EK nowadays.

Europeís massively picking up and U.S. running into a pilot shortage.

If you have not managed to get a decent job outside the Middle East yet, something went wrong, seriously!

Whatever, been there, done that, got that T-Shirt - good luck to all of youÖ

if that's the case we should see a massive exodus from EK considering how shitty things are over there right?

Pif Paf 2nd May 2022 07:21

Thread drift again.
Thought this was supposed to be about EK salary review!
any other EK salary review rumours ?

ThrustAssymComp 2nd May 2022 18:02


Originally Posted by DentBuckle (Post 11223437)
Same situation here in Indonesia, as i work in biggest LCC in the country. Massive pay cut ranging 70-90% starts in 2020 without any information about the payback. LOFT and OPC seems to be harder it's planned to be held once per 3 months. I think they're try to squeeze the pilots here, so we can break the contracts and pay the penalty. Clever enough 😬

Which one? JT? 18/20 yrs contract?

Shazeem 2nd May 2022 22:34


Originally Posted by aviatorLeo (Post 11223700)
if that's the case we should see a massive exodus from EK considering how shitty things are over there right?

The golden cage can be opened. Then again, for a lot of people it is better than home. All relative. Halas. Would you leave EK without having another job?
Most expats seem to be miserable but try to focus on the good things (wine, Legoland, APC, karak, Expo) otherwise insanity will win.

​​​​

Pif Paf 4th May 2022 18:47

So I guess no one has any good rumours about any pay rise / bonus?
just about sums EK up at present!

BigGeordie 5th May 2022 08:09

I don't think anybody has any expectations to manage anymore.

Shazeem 5th May 2022 17:38

I believe it is best to expect nothing. Then everything else is a bonus.
​​​​​​
To make this work, you do have to forget the halfpay and perks which were taken away the last few years. At least the laundry service is still for free. What to do.

AIMINGHIGH123 7th May 2022 11:24

The lure of the Middle East will be stronger than ever is my guess.

Yes T+Cs have been eroded but back here in UK itís hardly a bed of roses.

Ignoring way of life in Dubai and culture which is personal preference when you crunch numbers still some serious money can be saved or enjoyed.

Comparing Dubai to London. City to city I found prices are pretty even. When I was there last year a meal out with family was around 300-400AED. Same as in London at a local pub however the portions were more in Dubai. After every meal we would take food away with us.

When you start adding tax in Dubai becomes attractive.

Ok so FO EK Earns 30k AED a month
To earn that in UK you would need £130k a year at least.
Thatís not even adding accommodation.

Start adding up all the extras and how much can you save?

Say you work at LHR for BA. Spend £300 1500 AED a month in fuel but you need to earn £600 before tax to pay that £300 fuel bill.

Thatís just one example.

Not saying you shouldnít be given a pay rise. Whole industry needs to bump up but compared to some salaries in EU/UK land ME carriers looking attractive.



Kennytheking 7th May 2022 12:03


The lure of the Middle East will be stronger than ever is my guess.
You are not wrong about that but I would counter that there is going to be a retention problem rather than a recruiting problem.

I'm not a moaner and I often defend the company here against some of the rampant bs that people spread but i would be lying if I didn't say there were some realities to living here. It's a fine job, but after 16 years, I am desperately seeking the motivation to stay - it would just be nice to see some 'give' from management after all of the 'take'. Otherwise I'm gonna pull the pin on my covid escape plan and they can pay for 2 pilots' training to replace me.

AIMINGHIGH123 7th May 2022 18:18


Originally Posted by Kennytheking (Post 11226510)
You are not wrong about that but I would counter that there is going to be a retention problem rather than a recruiting problem.

I'm not a moaner and I often defend the company here against some of the rampant bs that people spread but i would be lying if I didn't say there were some realities to living here. It's a fine job, but after 16 years, I am desperately seeking the motivation to stay - it would just be nice to see some 'give' from management after all of the 'take'. Otherwise I'm gonna pull the pin on my covid escape plan and they can pay for 2 pilots' training to replace me.

The old age trouble of where is the grass greener. Iím at that point of pushing 40.
Is a legacy worth it?
Is it better to go with a LCC smashing out 4 sectors day after day?
Is it better to go ME carrier be sensible and bank some ££ÄÄ$$?

Have to choose what feels best for me right.

I know a guy who did 15 years at EK and only stopped because he had to. Loved every minute of it and goes back to Dubai almost every other month.
Others last a year and canít cope.
Run away never to return.

Back to salary/packages I canít see anywhere bumping up much if at all. Jet2 crew have been given some sort of raise but thatís the only one I know of and still below inflation.

1201alarm 8th May 2022 14:00

AIMINGHIGH123,

I can see your reasoning. Ever considered to invest a few 100 bucks and try the NIW-Visa-Route for the US? If I would have to start from scratch, that is what I would try.

And the US will have to open up at one point, they are simply running out of guys with the necessary 1500 hours, and it is easier to play with immigration bureaucracy than to change a law that has the public perception of having made aviation safer.

All the best.

Whitemonk Returns 8th May 2022 21:24

I have been watching these threads for 10 years and still haven't figured out how much the provident fund actually is for each rank so if anyone could clarify how that works I would appreciate IT. How much every month and how long to qualify etc. I gather an FO salary of around £6k but what is a Captain getting?

I'm currently a Captain in the UK getting around £6k into my account and £3.3k into my pension every month. Could go into training in a year or so but their lifestyle isn't great in my company so weighing up a ME move for 5 or 10 years once this impending recession is over in a couple of years. All the best. W

Visual Procedures 9th May 2022 06:09

EK pays an extra 12% of your base salary into the provident fund scheme. There's years of service required before you can leave and take it. It used to be 15% for those over 10 years, but don't mention the war..

Captain pay is 10 steps more than FO. A step is 3%. We used to get a pay step every year. There has only been 1 step increase since 2016.. There I go again.. mentioning the war..

BANANASBANANAS 9th May 2022 09:08


Originally Posted by Shazeem (Post 11225618)
I believe it is best to expect nothing. Then everything else is a bonus.
​​​​​​
To make this work, you do have to forget the halfpay and perks which were taken away the last few years. At least the laundry service is still for free. What to do.

I expected nothing from EK in my last year and they still managed to disappoint me!

Whitemonk Returns 9th May 2022 09:23

Allaru and VP thank you for the excellent responses, in that case I'll hang on and watch my kids grow up and reassess in another 5 years.

AIMINGHIGH123 9th May 2022 09:59

Sorry those white monk figures donít add up to me?

You getting around £130k a year plus £3300 into your pension from company?
That would mean your company is paying in 30% pension. Not in UK.

£130k based on 15% contribution which is the most I have heard of in UK is around £1700.

£130k gives £6400 take home plus £1700 say £8kish.

Unless you mean you are getting £6k but adding more of your salary into your pension to reduce tax hit on £100-£120k tax bracket?

Even still from my calculations you on slightly more that EK FO but less that EK Captain.

EK FO is 42k (£9k) AEDish with added housing allowance.


Whitemonk Returns 9th May 2022 13:31


Originally Posted by AIMINGHIGH123 (Post 11227377)
Sorry those white monk figures donít add up to me?

You getting around £130k a year plus £3300 into your pension from company?
That would mean your company is paying in 30% pension. Not in UK.

£130k based on 15% contribution which is the most I have heard of in UK is around £1700.

£130k gives £6400 take home plus £1700 say £8kish.

Unless you mean you are getting £6k but adding more of your salary into your pension to reduce tax hit on £100-£120k tax bracket?

Even still from my calculations you on slightly more that EK FO but less that EK Captain.

EK FO is 42k (£9k) AEDish with added housing allowance.

It's the last example, company contribution is 10% and I contribute 20% to try and stay below 100k but I'm probably going to have to up that to 25% to keep it under
​​​​

AIMINGHIGH123 9th May 2022 14:18


Originally Posted by Whitemonk Returns (Post 11227451)
It's the last example, company contribution is 10% and I contribute 20% to try and stay below 100k but I'm probably going to have to up that to 25% to keep it under
​​​​

Ok wise move. Unless you need the disposable for something else it saves some of the hammering from HMRC.

From a financial point of you just looking at those sums staying put looks better.

GA F15 9th May 2022 18:49

Iím in a very similar situation to you Whitemonk, and have been having the same thoughts for a few years.
The take home salary for a new EK FO is approx £6.5k pm, plus an accommodation allowance of £2.5k pm, so considerably more than we are currently receiving, but this is inflated by the current £/$ exchange rate.


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:59.


Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.