PPRuNe Forums

PPRuNe Forums (https://www.pprune.org/)
-   Middle East (https://www.pprune.org/middle-east-44/)
-   -   So Now the Pay Review.... (https://www.pprune.org/middle-east/514515-so-now-pay-review.html)

Pixy 11th May 2013 09:53

So Now the Pay Review....
 
Well after the bitter disappointment regarding the profit share we wait to see what the pay review brings.

This potentially has a number of aspects that could improve and lift the real income some small amount to where it used to be. There could be increases from or in the following areas:

• Basic Salary Scale goes up
• Step Advance
• Flying Pay Increase
• Productivity Pay Increase
• Callout Pay Increase
• Accommodation Allowance Increase
• Education Allowance Increase
• Telephone Allowance Increase
• Training Allowance Increase (Training Etc)
• Training Callout allowance increase
• Transport Allowance Increase (Training)

Am I missing anything? From the sounds of things those in the training fold should probably be hoping they do not get a decrease as there seems to be too many of them!

Clearly if there is no change to the list above then effectively a decrease in Real Wages will then occur due to the effects of inflation. Real Wages being wages adjusted for inflation.

The British economist John Maynard Keynes accurately described inflation as the means by which governments confiscate wealth. If salaries do not keep pace with inflation then an individual must then necessarily reduce consumption.

While inflation in the UAE has been reasonably static at 1.3% per year for the past 2 years since the salary scales were reviewed in May 2011, it is expected to climb towards 2% this year. This means that a minimum of a 3.4% increase on all the various remunerations listed above will ensure that by May 2014 we are maintaining the same real wage received in May 2011.
This increase needs to be on all aspects except the Step Increase. A step advance is often portrayed as an increase but in fact simply delays the inflationary effect until later. Don’t be fooled into thinking that a step advance (as we got last year) is a wage increase, because the individual steps on the scale remain the same. I.e. anyone joining on step 1 towards the end of this year would get the same as someone joining on step 1 in June 2011 which in fact represents a 3.4% lower wage at joining.

Despite the smoke and mirrors behind Scale and Step increases over the years Real Wages have declined steeply and that’s even before taking into effect the increases in work demanded for those wages.

It’s unlikely any respite will be given on time required from the company to earn the wages. We all know that productivity threshold will not reduce, nor are we likely to have certain duty hours, presently unremunerated, put into the credit hours classification. If anything I suspect more work will be required as this is the less obvious way of reducing real wages.

So we wait. Personally I would rather have a reasonable increase of around 3-4% on all of the above than any profit share. It makes my life more predictable, easier to budget and avoids me having to rely on any profit share to make up the losses suffered through inflation which may be taken care of in one year but not the next.

I ask for little more than to simply earn in real wages what I earned the year before. A step advance would be well received too. That would indicate the company appreciates my loyalty and experience. In return I would give them any and every courtesy to help out, save costs, and go the extra mile to ensure the continuing success and huge profits.

SMT Member 11th May 2013 11:40

Keep Dreaming.

You'll be lucky to get 2% on your base and nothing more. What's more likely, actually, is that they'll do some further downward adjustments. Don't like it? There's the door, lest you forget your status in Knoteetingham.

Wizofoz 11th May 2013 13:25

The problem, Pixy, is that keeping real wages at at least the same level as before is not a management goal.

Their measure of the required renumeration is attracting and retaining sufficient staff.

This has driven previous improvenments in renumeration when staff have been hard to come , and ALSO driven cuts in our pay (such as the PP threshold) when they were confident they were not going to lose people.

HOPEFULLY they see that there IS some writting on the wall (as an example, a large number of American pilots leaving as their Majors start hiring again would put a big dent in our numbers), but the situation right now is record low attrition, with no shortage of very desirable applicants.

Short term I'm not thinking we'll get any substantial improvement.

Still, I thought we'd get a prophit share, so hopefully i'll keep up my average and be wrong about this too:ouch:

fatbus 12th May 2013 03:12

US accounts for how many pilots at EK? Everyone I know have no plans go to back to US

MosEisley 12th May 2013 04:50

Fatbus, I'm from the US, and half the guys I know will go back as soon as a major calls. Any that were on the fence just got shoved off.

777-200LR 12th May 2013 05:14

MosEisley, I have to sort of disagree. A lot of the US guys here at EK that I know, are done with the US; at least the aviation side of it.

Wizofoz 12th May 2013 05:26

I've seen both attitudes.

The large influx of US pilots was 2-4 years ago, so a lot have or are coming up to command (at least on the 777), so leaving that to go on the end of a long seniority list, still with the spectre of furlough over your head, is a big call.

But Wives, Family and just being Home is hard to resist. At least some are bound to go.

Alconguin Crusader 12th May 2013 05:56

As an American you would be a fool not to at least look at the opportunity. All of the majors contracts are leaps and bounds better than EK and then when you examine the lifestyle with a closer look you will see that most pilots only work 12-13 days a month and from about 6am to 11pm. Hell even on reserve you are guaranteed 13 days off. I am sure the Airbus captains will kill to have that many days off with the hours flying listed above.
However saying all that most of the US pilots at EK would have a hard time getting hired by a major. A lot of these pilots come from Mesa and other crap regionals and couldn't get hired before. There is a reason why they are at those crap airlines.

Rather Be Skiing 12th May 2013 09:38


Originally Posted by Alconguin Crusader (Post 7838121)
...
However saying all that most of the US pilots at EK would have a hard time getting hired by a major. A lot of these pilots come from Mesa and other crap regionals and couldn't get hired before. There is a reason why they are at those crap airlines.

Have you always been such an arrogant and condescending p***k?

YYZ 12th May 2013 10:51

Wow Alconguin Crusader,

This is the second thread you're referring to your colleagues in this manner, I often give the benefit of doubt, but you genuinely come across as a total dick?

White Knight 12th May 2013 13:33

Of course chaps; maybe the reason Alconguin is here himself is because HE is crap and couldn't make the, what do you American chaps call them?, ah yes - The Majors:ugh::ugh:

Most of the Yanks I know have no intention of heading back to the US:cool:

Rim-job 12th May 2013 13:46

It's 4:45pm on May 12th and still no pay review letter... :D

They must be wondering how to sugar coat this email.

Three words: "Smoke and Mirrors"

jumbo1 12th May 2013 14:37

They are probably working on creating a position for Algonquin Crusader - Perfect mangement material. :ok:
Boy, what fun he must be to share a flight deck with. Must be very humbling to be in his hallowed company, us being from such inferior aviation stock. :ugh::ugh:

Fear_of_heights 12th May 2013 14:46

alconguin US pilots came to middle east because Majors didn't hire any pilots since 2001 not because of the Qualifications..... Are you one of the famous pilots that crossed the line and got s....tlisted in all the US airlines and can't get hired back home?:cool::cool::cool::cool:

Desert Camel 12th May 2013 15:17


• Basic Salary Scale goes up
• Step Advance
• Flying Pay Increase
• Productivity Pay Increase
• Callout Pay Increase
• Accommodation Allowance Increase
• Education Allowance Increase
• Telephone Allowance Increase
• Training Allowance Increase (Training Etc)
• Training Callout allowance increase
• Transport Allowance Increase (Training)
I hope there will be one of the first two (or both).... Not very optimistic about the rest.:\

helen-damnation 14th May 2013 14:10

AS told the standards meeting it will be out tomorrow.

Don't hold your breath :(

Wizofoz 14th May 2013 15:00

Straight from JA today- "It won't be bad news, but temper your expectatons"!!!

fatbus 14th May 2013 16:55

That means 3%

The Turtle 14th May 2013 17:04

yes but its coded 2.99

fliion 14th May 2013 18:10

Al. Cru ..not only disrespects other nationalities...but fellow Americans who came up a different route.

Guys like him are ten a penny in the US.

Anyone worth his salt will wait to judge based on personal experience. We have all met people from stellar backgrounds who are crap and those from less salubrious who are great...not for Al Cru...

His posts personify the "arrogant yank" and for rest of the us who walk quietly...

apologies to you all.

f.


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:41.


Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.