PPRuNe Forums

PPRuNe Forums (https://www.pprune.org/)
-   Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting (https://www.pprune.org/computer-internet-issues-troubleshooting-46/)
-   -   New version of Skype, suspicious email (https://www.pprune.org/computer-internet-issues-troubleshooting/417687-new-version-skype-suspicious-email.html)

Capetonian 9th June 2010 15:28

New version of Skype, suspicious email
 
Does anyone else think this email, asking me to download a new version of Skype, is suspicious? It doesn't come from Skype.


Make free Calls with Skype + new add-ons!
Talk to anyone in the world, record your calls and have a custom voicemail with Skype for free.

Skype Code: 2586
Go here for the new 2010 version
Recorder for Skype-Get More Out Of Skype

With countless users worldwide, you can connect to landlines and mobile phones using Voice Over IP (VoIP) technology.
- Better than telephone sound quality
- Available in 28 languages
- Teleconferencing
- 24/7 technical support

Skype Code: 2586
Download the latest version here
Recorder for Skype-Get More Out Of Skype

Skype has changed the way we think of telecommunications. Thank you for choosing the number one VoIP provider.

Best,

Alexander Smith
VOIP Technologies
If you want to stop receiving mail, please go to:
Global Unsubscribe Page

or you may contact us at the following address:

Media Internet Consultants, Edif. Neptuno, Planta Baja, Ave. Ricardo J. Alfaro, Tumba Muerto, n/a, Panama
Headers :


From New VoIP Version Wed Jun 9 11:45:33 2010
X-Apparently-To: [email protected] via 217.146.188.108; Wed, 09 Jun 2010 11:45:33 +0000
Return-Path: <[email protected]>
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 64.72.125.14
Received-SPF: none (mta1028.bt.mail.ird.yahoo.com: domain of [email protected] does not designate permitted sender hosts)
X-YMailISG:
X-Originating-IP: [64.72.125.14]
Authentication-Results: mta1028.bt.mail.ird.yahoo.com from=publicationidaily.info; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=publicationidaily.info; dkim=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 64.72.125.14 (HELO who.dailyeinbox.com) (64.72.125.14) by mta1028.bt.mail.ird.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 09 Jun 2010 11:45:33 +0000
From:
New VoIP Version <[email protected]>
Add sender to Contacts
Subject: Experience New Skype Features
To: [email protected]
Date: Wed, 09 Jun 2010 06:45:33 CDT
X-Peer-Info: 039.988014105
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Parapunter 9th June 2010 15:40

Golden rule of downloads: always get them form the maker & nowhere else.

Baldur 9th June 2010 15:44

Googling the IP address 217.146.188.108 gives a link to:

forum.419eater.com :: View topic - Another loan scam : FREDRICK LOAN INVESTMENT

and

http://www.projecthoneypot.org/ip_217.146.188.108

I would say, yes it looks suspicious.

Capetonian 9th June 2010 15:51

The IP address 217.146.188.108 is a Yahoo routing point, through which the email would have passed to get to aqny number of btinternet accounts. That is not suspicious.

The originating IP address is more significant, but that belongs to
OrgName: ACRONOC INC
OrgID: ACRON-1
Address: 1415 Louisiana St
Address: Suite 12Y Box 8
City: Houston
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 77002
Country: US
and is also not suspicious.

Baldur 9th June 2010 16:18

More Googling, this time on "Media Internet Consultants" as mentioned in the original email.

This brings the following link:

Genuine or not, suspect not... - Broadcasting - Digital Spy Forums

A further Google on "Edif. Neptuno, Planta Baja, Ave. Ricardo J. Alfaro, Tumba Muerto, n/a, Panama", again from the original email, gives you:

New SCAM: “Google Earth” scam email. Don’t PAY for Google Earth! | PurpleCar

Draw your own conclusions - I'd stay clear and as Punter said, always get from the maker...

Capetonian 9th June 2010 16:24

Thank you. As I suspected. I suppose I could have done the Googling myself but one of the reasons I prefer to post these things is that it provides a topic of conversation, and it also increases awareness of scams and how careful we have to be.

I was, as my opening words indicated, pretty sure it was a scam!

mixture 9th June 2010 19:30


The originating IP address is more significant, but that belongs to
OrgName: ACRONOC INC
OrgID: ACRON-1
Address: 1415 Louisiana St
Address: Suite 12Y Box 8
City: Houston
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 77002
Country: US
and is also not suspicious.

Not suspicious ?

Oh what it is to be young and innocent when it comes to matters internet. :cool:


Step 1: Google ACRONOC INC
Result : "Houston Texas Colocation, Dedicated Servers, VPS Solutions ..."

Step 2: Conclude that one of their customers is deliberatley or unknowingly running an open relay.

Step 3: Send spam message with full headers to abuse at acronoc.com

And finally.... the whole thing stinks of alarm bells suspicious if you just look at the URLs it's trying to take you to. I don't see skype dot com anywhere.

oldbeefer 11th June 2010 14:24

Why not just open Skype, Help, Check for updates - that will tell you!

Avtrician 12th June 2010 06:00

There are similar emails for updating googoo earth, These people will charge you to supply updates that googoo or skype have for free. Also some going around for Adobe reader updates as well

Keef 12th June 2010 11:40

Lots of 'em around. I was trying to update my EU Health Card thingy (free from the NHS) and had trouble finding the correct site.

Googoo seems to take advertising revenue into account, or these scammers have sussed how to fox it.

green granite 12th June 2010 12:08

Same applies to driver software as well.


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:07.


Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.