PPRuNe Forums

PPRuNe Forums (https://www.pprune.org/)
-   Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting (https://www.pprune.org/computer-internet-issues-troubleshooting-46/)
-   -   Facebook emails (https://www.pprune.org/computer-internet-issues-troubleshooting/400675-facebook-emails.html)

mad_jock 2nd January 2010 22:19

Facebook emails
 
Just had 2 arrive reportedly from a friend commenting on a picture.

It was the "happy festive photo's" which gave it away. Cause I don't remember anything festive about getting up at 4 in the morning and doing a 13 hour duty day.

Guess what they contain a very nasty link which you will live to regret clicking on if you are using windows.

Be warned!!!!

Hamrah 3rd January 2010 07:30

Nasty "Facebook" e-mails
 
I'm getting two or three a day, all purporting to be from Facebook, with " New Security Updates". The embedded Links are very dodgy, to say the least.

Hamrah

Keef 3rd January 2010 09:26

I have a sneaking suspicion the Facebook machine has been hacked. "My daughter" suddenly sent out a batch of advertising for some dodgy site - which is absolutely not her thing! She deleted them all and changed her password, but was not impressed.

mad_jock 3rd January 2010 12:22

Thats what was so sneaky about these emails.

It was set up virtually identical to a normal comment on a photo email.

I have now turned this feature off I might add and added another filter to my email account.

My intial thoughts were you sneaky :mad:ers. Then I bet a few will fall for that one.

I think all but the most brain dead are wise to security updates. But a facebook comment on a photo or you have been tagged in a photo. Most kids are just going to hit the link which is why I broke my normal rule of not commenting about the latest security scare.

Capetonian 3rd January 2010 12:28



Happy New Year

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows Live Hotmail: Your friends can get your Facebook updates, right from HotmailŪ.
I got this this morning. The link goes here :

www(dot)microsoft.com/middleeast/windows/windowslive/see-it-in-action/social-network-basics.aspx?ocid=PID23461::T:WLMTAGL:ON

It appears from the headers to have come from the genuine email of someone I know.

It might be genuine, but I don't trust it and am not interested in Facebook anyway.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20.


Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.