![]() |
PPRUNE Spam
Starting on the 27/6 I've started to get spam into my PPRUNE registered email address.
I don't ever send mail from this account. In fact it's not an account, it's <name>@mydomain.com. Nobody knows the email addy other than PPRUNE and I've only had a password reset mail back in 2003. Tha <name> would be hard to guess and I've hand no random hits on the domain. I run a Mac and I'm pretty sure that my mail is secure. So, how did the spammers get the address? :confused: |
Are you sure it's addressed to name@whatever?
My email can be [email protected], in other words absolutely anything of any name @myco.co.uk will arrive in the same mailbox. |
Originally Posted by frostbite
Are you sure it's addressed to name@whatever?
My email can be [email protected], in other words absolutely anything of any name @myco.co.uk will arrive in the same mailbox. |
Maybe an attack on pprune site
Since resetting my cookies recently, I have had a huge increase in spam. I use my standard address on pprune, but that is about to change.
I have had couple of 'detailed' discussions with the staff of my ISP. Some of the spam comes to my regular address however, a goodly number come addressed to the same ISP but with a different name, usually starting with the same initial. I.e., If my address was [email protected] I would also receive mail addressed to [email protected]. I never did get a happy answer; as it appears that by using proxy servers etc. spammers can do all sorts of weird things with addresses. The latest gimmick that I have had a bunch of is; to send the text as an image. I use the tools wizard in Outlook to redirect a lot of mail to the deleted box by putting in an offending phrase or something in the title such as "re:[" . However this won't work with an image as there is no text for the tool to read. P1sses me off.:yuk: The short answer is that it it may be pprune related or more likely that the spammers algorithm is just grinding out addresses. |
Or perhaps someone you correspond with using email who uses Outlook or the like and has your email addy in the address book has a virus / spyware which has harvested the email address.
|
Or perhaps someone you correspond with using email who uses Outlook or the like and has your email addy in the address book has a virus / spyware which has harvested the email address. |
Or perhaps if you have your addy viewable on your posts, it has been harvested by a Bot.
|
| All times are GMT. The time now is 17:11. |
Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.