PDA

View Full Version : Mis-sold endowments??

Tethered Hover
16th Aug 2003, 01:04
When training in Yorkshire in the late '80s, I was sold an endowment by the famous Mike S, which is now worth not very much. Has anyone out there who used him as an IFA had any success in claiming compensation?

FFP
16th Aug 2003, 02:36
I think it very much depends on whether you were given duff advice at the time. I have no experience of this(suing) but if your advisor made you aware at the time that it may not perform as it has in the past then I would guess that would scupper it.

Were you given a maturity value at the time you took it out abd has it matured at that ?

Arkroyal
16th Aug 2003, 16:41
According to Financial Mail, those who bought direct from the companies have a better chance of success than those who bought from an IFA.

Autorev
16th Aug 2003, 17:42
I was sold an endowment by the famous Mike S, which is now worth not very much

I too bought a policy from him around the same time. Assuming that yours is a 25yr policy, very few are worth much at all with 10 yrs to run - the traded endowment market has all but disappeared. However, the value of the policy when it matures is highly dependent on the policy's performance over the next 10 yrs and the terminal bonus.

I mused over whether we were all mis-sold these policies when the media frenzy latched onto the 'someone else to sue' aspect of endowments. Looking at the paperwork, his projections are a little optimistic by the standards of the markets performance over the last 3-4 yrs, but who knows what will happen over the next 10?

Also his advice was based on the fact that we were all in a fg trg system that was taking as long as 6 yrs, so us singlies were forced by the rules at the time to live in the mess. As a result, my first mortgage was taken out over 20yrs instead of 25

PS When FP floated I assume you picked up your £1K Brucie Bonus!

Scud-U-Like
17th Aug 2003, 20:58
Welcome to the PPrune Personal Finance Forum.