PDA

View Full Version : Period pains, can you use medication?

pilotpilot
7th Aug 2003, 03:53
Help! Are mild pain killers (like panadol) allowed to be used?

Notso Fantastic
7th Aug 2003, 04:06
Let me say, on my second wife- I am an expert on period pains. I have suffered from them for 33 years. Yes, take whatever you have got in the house, full dose. Whatever rocks you. Just don't overdose on the paracetamol/acetaminophen ones- it tends to kill you. Why you ask Squaw Eviltemper?

flapsforty
7th Aug 2003, 04:52
pilotpilot, am leaving it to wiser heads than my own to answer your question.
However, for period pains, Ibuprofen (Unfortunately 12000 pounds a year does not buy much in the way of EQ, empathy and psychology.) in most of it's guises is often more effective than medicines from the paracetamol family like Panadol.
This info both from own experience and medical literature. :)
Good luck.

Ryanairpilot
7th Aug 2003, 08:03
pilotpilot

my life took a dramatic turn for the better when the missus found this:

she swears by it.

best of luck.

No direct links to foundation site .
H

Gerund
7th Aug 2003, 08:19
pilotpilot

Basically no! If the Maltese regulations are based on the SA regulations which are based on the JAR ones etc etc

The South African CATS state that:

Aspirin is allowed as a prophylactic/anticoagulant in low doses, ie 75mg/day that is a quarter of a standard tablet!!!

Paracetamol can be used (short term) - not during flying

And that's your lot!! No other painkillers appear on the list and it is stated that anything not on the list is basically unacceptable.

Oh, yes, and oral contraceptives are only acceptable after a three month stabilisation period.

So you can smoke and drink, but make sure you break that aspirin in four, and tell your employer you can't fly for three months because you and hubby have just decided to do a bit of family planning.