PDA

View Full Version : PI Staines (HS121 -3C)

HZ123
11th Jul 2003, 16:32
Question from BA staff at Cranebank LHR. Is there a memorial plaque at Staines in respect of PI. We believe there is but if so where is it actually located. Thanks

Trinity 09L
22nd Jul 2003, 15:42
To my knowledge as a past resident of Staines, there is no memorial or plaque of any description at or near the site, alongside the A30, (Crooked Billet).

Personally I think there should be. Many other disasters, ( and albeit lesser in scale), in the UK and elsewhere have had memorials established.

I actually saw that aircraft depart, and shortly after leaving LHR, unaware of the accident drove close by. Thereafter, I was a resident on the estate close by.

I do hope that this topic can start the momentum for a memorial.

May all those souls that perished, rest in peace.

Shaggy Sheep Driver
22nd Jul 2003, 17:57
Is the area where it crashed still open ground, or has it since been built on?

SSD

newswatcher
22nd Jul 2003, 18:37
Still open ground, I believe. See the following photo, the A30 runs across the bottom left corner. I believe the crash site was between this road and the bottom of the photo, about 2 inches from the left.
http://www.multimap.com/bx793/gmp/504/172/X504000Y172500S10000W500H310.jpg

Trinity 09L
24th Jul 2003, 17:07
The photo/map shows the exact location. It is still open land, though now under the ownership of Thames Water. If you stand at the first lay by on the on the A30 westbound past the Crooked Billet r/bout the field on your left is the site.

The memorial could quite easily be situated at this lay by.

In Barbados I saw a similar memorial for a Cuban DC8 that crashed offshore, and likewise in an earlier thread there is one for the Air India 747 off the Irish coast.

Mr_Grubby
24th Jul 2003, 18:11