PDA

View Full Version : Learning to play guitar

NoSurrender
4th May 2003, 10:58
I've been left a guitar on the condition that I learn to play (not much point in having it if I don't I suppose).
Anyway what is the best way to learn and how many hours of practice before I'm an axe hero?
Is it really possible to learn from a book/video course?

Caslance
4th May 2003, 14:50
NoSurrender

How many hours practice? Years and years and years, my friend!:ooh:
I've been playing the bass for over 25 years, and I'm still learning - the same principle holds true for the "6-string posing plank".

Books and videos can help you with the basics and, later on, with the finer points of technique. The bad news is that there simply is no substitute for good old-fashioned hard work and practice.

If I were asked to name one thing that will help you above all else, then it's playing with other musicians.

It also improves your social life - after all, that's how I met the lovely Mrs Caslance.:ok:

tony draper
4th May 2003, 17:23
Also many weeks of painfull finger tips.
PS, it helps if you got long fingers, helps even more if you got six fingers on each hand.

Well! Anne Bolynn had six fingers on each hand.

:rolleyes:

VFE
4th May 2003, 17:28
Not a guitarist but as an organ grinder I can tell you that after 8 hours a day of practice for a year I started to get somewhere. In jazz circles they call it woodshedding. I started playing when I was 14 and by the time I was 17 people started to say complimentary things about my playing as opposed to derogatory remarks which you'll have to put up with in the begining.

If you start off playing the simple things you hear by ear on your fave records you will soon pick up on the little licks and chord progressions that constantly crop up in music.