PDA

View Full Version : Need advice from European pilots

ArcherII
24th Feb 2003, 06:11
Hi,

I'm currently studying Aerospace Engineering in central Indiana, USA. I'm in my third year. I'm just about to earn an FAA PPL, and i'm in an instrument ground class and will be getting my instrument rating next Fall. Upon graduation, I have two choices. Get a Masters, and become an engineer. Or, invest in flight training in Florida, get FAA and JAA licences and find a flying job in the US or Europe.

I'm not intersted in airlines, but corporate flying, or even flying small piston twins for whatever job, as long as I can make good money.

I would appreciate any advice, and an introduction to the JAA system...and how the flying in Europe is different from USA.

Archer

FlyingForFun
24th Feb 2003, 08:00
I'm not intersted in airlines... as long as I can make good money.Well, the only way I know of to make good money in this industry is ni the airlines. And even then, it's not exactly easy...

That aside, do you have the right to work in Europe? If not, not point in getting a JAR license.

Once you've got that hurdle out of the way, an aeroplane flies exactly the same way in America as it does in Europe. JAA is a little different to the FAA system in places. The ground-school is much tougher, for a start. As far as terminology is concerned, you'll hear people talking about a "frozen ATPL", "ATPL(F)" or "fATPL". This is the equivalent of an FAA CPL/IR - might be a little confusing if you heard the phrase and didn't know what it meant.

From what I can gather, there are more regional jobs in the US than in Europe, which means there's a more definite career-path. Over here, a very small number of people get airline jobs immediately, but most people scrape around trying to find work instructing or flying for one of the few turbo-prop jobs, or head off to other parts of the world where there are more piston jobs, while they build up hours.