View Full Version : Computers in aviation

YakYak
20th Feb 2003, 14:35
Hi there folkes

I'm an undergraduate student curently researching a project entitled: "Computers in Aviation" for a 45 minute presentation.

I'm having difficulty finding online resources (or any resources at all) on this topic. Does anybody have any ideas on where I can find infomration about this topic. The presentation is aimed at non-pilots and non-engineers so does not have to be particularly technical - it just needs to be a broad overview of the concept of computers in aviation and the repercussions to society.

Any help (at all) would be much appreciated.

Regards

Yakkers :O

ICT_SLB
22nd Feb 2003, 05:02
Any modern aircraft seems to be a collection of computers flying in formation - the latest designs have so few normal switches that it makes the BMW I-drive simplicity itself! Try these links for Honeywell & Rockwell-Collins:

www.honeywell.com/en/aerospace/index.jsp

www.rockwellcollins.com

Plus try typing "computers" into the FAA's search engine.

Hope this helps.

safetypee
26th Feb 2003, 07:15
http://www.rvs.uni-bielefeld.de/publications/Incidents/
http://flightdeck.ie.orst.edu/FDAI/issues.html

northwing
2nd Mar 2003, 11:56