PDA

View Full Version : The Unexplainable

roger
4th Feb 2003, 20:41
Any of you pilots seen unexplained lights or objects whilst flying. (sober that is!!)
I took a U.F.O. report once and was a little sceptical.
Anyway, just curious.
roger

Lou Scannon
5th Feb 2003, 15:09
There was a BA crew, maybe five or so years ago, into Manchester who reported some strange sights.

At the time it seemed a very responsible report , even though no one could work out what it was that they had seen.

Pirate
9th Feb 2003, 11:06
Back in the early eighties I was an instructor at the Oxford Air Training School. One day, whilst flying with a student in the local area over Otmoor I looked to the left and saw what appeared to be a dullish red sphere about the size of a football keeping station about half a wingspan off the wingtip. I pointed it out to the student and asked him to turn towards it. Whatever we did with the aircraft, that sphere maintained exactly the same relative position. After a short time, our atention was distracted by something and when we looked again, it was no longer there. I didn't mention it to anyone else at the time but I've often wondered in the intervening years what it was that we actually saw.

VFE
9th Feb 2003, 13:14
The sun reflecting off the window by the sounds of it! If the sphere moved in exact formation with the aircraft then this must be the most plausible explantaion surely? The fact it dissapeared when you turned a new heading would say to me that the sun was no longer in a position to cause the image.

VFE.

flysr4ever
9th Feb 2003, 20:00
SR B747-300 JFK-ZRH a few years back, reported a UFO. A few minutes later, a UA B747 saw that it was only a weather balloon.

blaireau
10th Feb 2003, 08:13
Late 80's whilst flying from Nanjing to Hong Kong, both the FO and I observed numerous silver balls, at unknown distance or size, maintaining constant azimuth and elevation. Airborne report was useless due to the linguistic difficulties in those days.