PDA

View Full Version : Career pathway for aviation.

gingernut
31st Jan 2003, 15:12
What exactly is the career pathway which leads to a career in aviation (flying)?

What are the options for a career in aviation, what are the routes required, and what exactly is involved.

Please treat me as a complete novice, who doesn't know an ATPL from an IR. My profession allows me to contribute to other parts of the forum, (medical and health), so please excuse my naivity and simplicity, but sometimes you've just gotta know the whole story from the beginning.

I do hold a ppl.

I realise such a simple question may require a complex answer, and if you could point me in the right direction, (eg a previous thread) I would be more than grateful.

I have tried performing a search using the search term "Career" but the results lacked specificity.

Cheers

rich49
31st Jan 2003, 20:47
Hiya gingernut,

Their are lots of careers in flying: Corporate, cargo, airline, airborne medical, police, flying instructor.... all require the pilot to hold a CPL (see below).
i am no expert, if you go to cabairs website or any other flying schools website they do a pretty good job of explaining the path. I will give it a go but someone may wish to correct me, I am not sure on some things like the limit weights:
PPL: Allows operation of single piston engined aircraft under (5200KG BOW???) in VFR. (You know this already as you hold a PPL?)

Night rating: Allows flight with passengers after sunset and before sunrise (ie at night)

IMC: extends the rights of a PPL to allow you to fly in IMC

IR: Instrument rating, allow flight in IFR. Airlines require the applicant to hold an IR in 99.9% of the case, an IR in terms of 'pecking order' negates the need to gain a night rating or IMC rating because it is inclusive of the training for these ratings.

Multi Rating: Allows the holder to fly multi engine piston aircraft upto (5800 KG ???)