PDA

View Full Version : Routes Into Aviation

UKStudent64
24th Mar 2001, 04:29
I'm a student just taking my A-Levels and have always had the ambition to become a pilot. I shall be 18 this year and am looking to go to University to study Areospace Engineering, it will take me 4 or 5 years (maybe a year out, I don't know yet!) meaning I'll be out around 22/23 in 2005/06

My big plan is to become an engineer which will atleast get me into the aviation industry, half the dream, and then move sideways to become a pilot. I've spoken to people who have done this and wondered if anyone had anny comments on this approach. Is this a good idea? Do people already in the industry have an advantage over newcommers in becoming a pilot?

On a further note, does anyone have any opinions on what kind of pilot jobs are best and why? I was looking atflying for an Airline like BA. What do people think of the different jobs? Long Haul and Short Haul flights etc.

Any advice would be gratefully recieved.

Jamie Townes

scroggs
24th Mar 2001, 13:00
I don't understand why you would wish to become an engineer before you became a pilot. All those that I know who have gone that route originally wanted to be engineers and changed their minds later on when they realised that pilots have more fun on more pay for less work!!
Seriously, if you want to be a pilot, start now. Get yourself a back-up qualification, by all means, but don't wait to start your pilot career - life has a horrible habit of making it too difficult later on.

Speedbird 2946
24th Mar 2001, 13:15