PDA

View Full Version : Random Security Checks

RENURPP
11th Jan 2003, 02:42
After disembarking last night the F/O and me proceeded to the terminal. On entering the door, which we held open for the "safety officer" or whatever their correct name are these days. He then asked to see my ASIC card and said he was carrying out a random audit. This took a good part of five minutes of note taking I guess.

No problems with any of that but, I have been operating from this airport for 13 yrs, I see this same bloke most days I am at work. He watched me disembark and followed me into the terminal, he obviously new were I had come from. To me this seems another ridiculous waste of time dreamt up by some body that has no idea what is going on airside at the airport.

Surely if I was going to be a threat I would have already accomplished my goal before proceeding back in side the terminal. Surely if they are going to randomly check people, which is a good idea, they check people prior to flying half way across the country not on completion.
What can be achieved by checking pilots at the end of a flight?
Am I missing something here or is this as I see it a complete waste of time.

Thanks Nig

Hugh Jarse
11th Jan 2003, 06:59
Renurpp,
whenever I go through a door at an airport that requires a swipe or smart card (like T2 YSSY), I don't let anyone through behind me or my crew unless they are displaying an ASIC.

There's a lot of work going on around here in YSSY at the 'mo, and occasionally people try to follow me through secured doors. They probably have a legitimate reason to come through (contractors) or are too lazy to use their own card. But there could be some idiot trying to have a go. I don't know them from Jack Schitt.

Tough titties for them. If they need access they can ring security to let them through AFAIAC.

compressor stall
11th Jan 2003, 07:15
He then asked to see my ATSIC card