PDA

View Full Version : Interested glider pilot

Charlie charlie x-ray
11th Oct 2001, 01:34
Please help me i am a young pilot (gliding). i soloed on my 16th b'day and am now trying to get intpo either power flying or getting really into gliding. I was just wandering if i get into power flying how much will it cost me and where can i do it. P.S. i live in north lincolnshire :eek: :eek: :eek:

skysoarer
11th Oct 2001, 02:27
Not certain about power clubs other than there are alot of them and people seem to rave on about BA's club at Wycombe.

However, even through my number of hours in power aircraft is less than 5 I can (fairly) safely say that I personally find gliding much much more fun and satisfying. Especially at our club as the 1000ft winch launch means you have to work With the weather to stay up. If you're interested take a look at http://www.gliding.co.uk to find clubs to visit other than where you soloed.

If you want to learn practically how the weather works and be almost required to understand it and how aircraft really fly (i.e. without a whirly thing) then give gliding some more time. However if you're looking towards a power career then perhaps some power learning is called for ... but ... Gliding is also CHEAPER! ;)

Hope this helps, regards;

Skysoarer

[ 10 October 2001: Message edited by: Skysoarer ]

Grandad Flyer
11th Oct 2001, 14:04
I would have thought you should be able to get a cadetship with a gliding club somewhere - ask around. If no formal scheme, ask if you can go up and help and hang around lots, and in time people will get to know you and offer you free flights in their gliders. You might be able to do some part time work in the office or the workshop in return for some membership or something. Most clubs will offer you something if you are helpful.