PDA

View Full Version : SLF - Should we?

TightSlot
19th Dec 2002, 16:48
I really dislike the use of the word SLF (Self Loading Freight) for passengers in these forums. Here's why..

1. It sends out all the wrong messages to those who don't fly, about our perception of them as passengers.

2. It dehumanises our passengers. They are not freight, but people, and we shouldn't pretend otherwise.

3. It makes us look unprofessional and uncaring.

I suggest that we all (Cabin Crew) agree a voluntary ban on the use of this phrase in this forum: Alternatives might be pax, passengers or (steady now) customers.

I wouldn't be surprised to discover that I am in a minority of one, which is why there's a poll - I'll be interested to see how it goes! :cool:

Sven Sixtoo
19th Dec 2002, 22:54
Nope

I have been SLF on many occasions.

It reflects perfectly the crews problem with the task.

I am a professional pilot; my terminology includes

Grunts
Grockles
Bennies
Stills
Dogs
Survivors

Some of these are literally correct, some are descriptive, not all are derogatory.

I don't have a problem if the trolley dolly calls me SLF, just as long as s'he is prepared to be the TD.

And I still respect her/him for getting us out in in a crash.

Sven

wingless
19th Dec 2002, 22:57
think about all the degrading things we get called.
i don't think slf is that bad considering....

christep
20th Dec 2002, 01:09
As an SLF I don't have a problem with it at all, particularly while the trolley dolleys continue proudly to proclaim the tightness of their slots ;)

Sick Squid
20th Dec 2002, 01:34
I believe..... and bearing in mind that I also believe in the Tooth Fairy, Santa Claus, and Scotland's chances of winning the World Cup you can weight this accordingly.... that the term Self Loading Freight originated in the hilariously funny* "Uncle Roger" feature at the back of each issue of Flight International magazine.

At least, that's where I've seen it in most use.

£6