PDA

View Full Version : BM/OATS A BIG MONEY SCAM?

tugtishu
20th Mar 2001, 22:39
I have heard from many numerous independent sources that candidates who have been invited to OATS for BM aptitude tests ,who have paid the fee(75pounds ish), and then NOT turned up due to subsequent job offers from other airlines, still received letters from OATS informing them that "although their results were not up to BM standards they still had the aptitude to be pilots! and OATS's marketing dept(surprise surprise) would be in contact"
Wannabes beware!

G - HIGH
20th Mar 2001, 22:54
I totally agree! I think someone or something is wrong there. I sat the same test in November last year, having paid the £75 fee. (That's like nearly an hour in the air for me!)

Anyway, I have a 1st class Physics degree and these things are my specialty. (sorry, dont mean to brag!) But i thought the tests went rather well, only to be dissapointed by a similar type of letter. Now that you mentioned it, how well do they actually mark these tests, and for that type of money, I'd certainly like some feed back!!

TheNavigator
20th Mar 2001, 23:52
Don't worry guys!

I also received that same letter but even before the aptitude tests. At least I saved the £75. :) Nevertheless, I have shown qualifications that are suitable for becoming a pilot and bla bla ....

G-HIGH, I am starting to think that too much qualifications might be a problem. I also have a first class degree in Electronic engineering and lots of Maths and Physics at university level (from my previous degree studied in Portugal) and currently studying towards a PhD in Engineering and that didn't seem appealing or in accordance with BM standards? So what are BM standards exactly??

I even had a trial flight which at least shows determination ... Well ... I don't know what to say!

TheNavigator

AffirmBrest
21st Mar 2001, 12:53