PDA

View Full Version : ATPL Q's

ohboy
17th Nov 2002, 02:54
Hi every one,

Which is the best form of studying ATPL, self study or full time course?

I love to hear from anyone who has done it both.

Thanks.....:)

Aussiebert
17th Nov 2002, 07:38
Depends on the individual much like any other study... I've only done one subject so far, and i'm glad i went for the classes (flight planning)

I reckon go for whatever has worked best for you in the past

kez
18th Nov 2002, 03:47
I've not completed all the subjects yet, but was advised by my instructor to do a course for at least Flight Planning and Systems.
So I did a course for Planning, Systems, Nav & PerfLoad, and have self studied Met & HumanF.
This worked for me. Just LAW left to do, by self study.
Cheers:)

bboy
18th Nov 2002, 05:11
Self study worked for me.

Passed them all first go fortunately.

Whether you do a course or not IMHO does'nt matter. You have to put in the hard yards. I studied my a&se off and went well.

Good luck.

Rubber Chicken
19th Nov 2002, 21:37
Do a full time course if you can get the time off. It's all over in 4 weeks. Self study can take a hell of a lot longer unless you do it full time at home but there can be too many interuptions and distractions. I can't say I know of anyone who has not been through Natan Higgins on the sunshine coast. Everyone I know has passed first time round and all are now flying at least a 737.

damaged goods
24th Nov 2002, 15:28
The other thing you have to consider is wether you wanna learn anything or you just wanto pass the exams?............ Nathan higgins is good to pass as he teaches you how to pass........ not necessarily a good thing if u forget it:eek:

Chief Wiggam
26th Nov 2002, 03:20
Have to partially agree with DG. 5 & a bit weeks for NH's course is pretty full on, especially with learning systems. But sh$%. It does the job quite nicely.