PDA

View Full Version : Souffles....

brockenspectre
27th Oct 2002, 12:41
OK y'all. I have a friend due to arrive from the USA on Thursday morning and during his visit I want to impress, casually, by fixin a souffle one evening (yeah, OK, he IS special can't you guess :D )!!

As a celiac my system can't process wheat/oats/rye/barley and I have been recommended to use rice or cornflower for the "roux" (the sauce base).

This apart .. really don't know why but I have never made a souffle before and feel nervous about doing so. I think 'cos my mother always used to say it was the ultimate test of a good cook!!! YIKES!!!

So ... anyone else terrified of makin em? Anyone with good tips for doing so? Recipes/flavours?

:D

P.S. I will ensure he thinks I am a good cook before attemptin ye soufflee, natch!!

P.P.S. I am intending practisin in the next couple of days hence my plea now!

AerBabe
27th Oct 2002, 12:57
Two top tips... Make sure the eggs are as fresh as possible... and don't over-whisk them. :)

Ah forget all that fannying around in the kitchen. Buy one from tescos and stick a sprig of fresh parsley on top. He'll never know ;) :D

brockenspectre
27th Oct 2002, 14:04
if could a ready-made I prolly might but ... all the stores use real flour!!

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

:)

Techchick
27th Oct 2002, 15:48
Brock, never mind the souffle... give him fiish and chips

Rollingthunder
27th Oct 2002, 19:33
Having delved into my vast research library, I can offer this.

Flourless Cheese Souffle

Invented by Elizabeth Jackson

Ingredients

2 TBL softened butter
6 large eggs separated 3 g
pinch of cayenne pepper (I use way more)
1/2 tsp nutmeg
pinch salt & pepper
4 oz cream cheese softened 3 g
1 1/2 c grated gruyere cheese 5 g

Preparing

Preheat oven to 425 F, Coat a 6 cup souffle dish with all of the butter. In a mixing bowl combine: egg yolks, cayenne, nutmeg,