View Full Version : Is it gonna get better or worse?-opinions please

Eno
11th Aug 2001, 10:31
Don't wish to be pessimistic or anything but one or two things are making me question if now is a good time to throw a huge amount of cash at a career in flying?

Would love to get opinions from some pros who have been around long enough to see good and bad times and hear just what they think the industry will go through in the near future and weather or not you would spend 50k on learnng to fly right now or would you hang on.

Thanks
Eno

aces low
11th Aug 2001, 15:10
I am not a pro, but always assume the worst. Your gonna blow £50k, wait a couple of years for a job while the bank breathes down your neck and you wait for the world to come out of recession while still trying to find a grand a year to keep your IR current.

If you still want to do it then go for it and to hell with the consequences. If the thought of losing everything you've got is a little off putting, you will find that there are wannabes out there who are sacrificing everything for a flying career. They'll be the ones that get the licences and eventually a job. Then one day you'll be 50 with kids and mortgages, flash cars and a wandering as to whether you should have gone for it after all.

Is there ever a right time? Remember making decisions when knowing all the facts isn't decision making or judgement...its just a foregone conclusion.

Starting to ramble now...but I hope this helps you to be bold and take control of your destiny (whatever that may be).

scroggs
12th Aug 2001, 00:23
There are no certainties in aviation, or anything else for that matter. The fact is that this is the best pilot market UK aviation has ever seen, right now. If it were to drop to 50% of its current level, it would still be better than it's been for most of the post-war years. The trouble is, as always, that too many people want to be pilots!