PDA

View Full Version : Conversion of Australian ATPL to French equivalent

pullpowa
6th Oct 2002, 23:15
G'day all,

I am an Australian pilot. I hold an ICAO CPL with Multi Engine Command Instrument Rating (3 renewals)

Total hours 2,000
ME command 900
ATPL (A) held

Primarily I am flying Piper Chieftain PA31 on IFR tasking throughout Central Australia.

My wife is French and therefore i have right of abode within the EU, however I do not understand the requirements to convert my licence and allow me to fly in Europe.

I would appreciate help with repsect to the requirements to convert my licence and also how to go about the process of searching for jobs. Any leads, companies etc.

Merci Beaucoup pour votre assistance!

:) :(

eaglejet
7th Oct 2002, 01:13
Hi Pullpowa,

The first thing to consider would be your french language level. If you are not fluent in french, don't think about finding a job in France.

Second thing, the licence conversion pocess is a really long and hard way in France (the french civil aviation is a real pain in the ass (sorry Flyblue;) for that!!)

Maybe you should consider doing it in UK where it would be easier.

For further informations go and check the DGAC website (gdac.fr i think)

cheers!!

flying masai
7th Oct 2002, 07:17
The JAR are in force in Europe now, You can convert your licence in any country of the following:
danemark/UK/Islande/Netherland/Sweden/Belgium/Spain/Finlan/Irland and switzerland.
The licences provided by an other country will not allowed you to fly plane register in France.

Procedure:

You will need to seat for the written exams (12 with your experience). Flying part quiet easy with your total time.
France's exams are in French.

It will take you from 5 months to two years depending on your motivation.

Contact each civil aviation authority for details, some of the country mention above are not ready yet for the JAR exams.

Good Luck.

PorcoRosso
7th Oct 2002, 10:46
Hello Oz boy !