PDA

View Full Version : External Lighting Systems

LightFantastic
1st Oct 2002, 10:58
Hello,

I am a post-grad researcher at Cambridge University and we are looking at reducing maintenence time in emergency aircraft. We are trying to find out whether present, incandescent lighting systems are adequate and the question is this:

- Do current lighting systems present maintenence delays or danger due to failure during operation?

We will also look at the cost implications of using LEDs instead of current lighting. Any thoughts or comments would be most welcome. You can e-mail me at [email protected] if you need to.

Thanks again!

Jonathan Biddle

spannersatcx
1st Oct 2002, 15:50
No, fairly simple to change a tube or it's ballast.:)

Intruder
1st Oct 2002, 17:24
Changing a light bulb on a small airplane may be easy, but changing a tail light bulb on a 747 may require shutting down the APU, as well as finding a cherrypicker or other lift to get there in the first place.

Nav lights fail often enough that many airplanes have 2 separate bulbs in each position for redundancy. I believe LEDs, if they meet the visibility and color requirements, would be ideal for this application.

max motor
1st Oct 2002, 18:33
Spanners

EXTERNAL INCANDESCENT lighting systems - tube or ballast????

But seriously I agree with intruder. Nav lights which are mandatory items and therefore probably most likely to cause a maintenance delay (along with anti-collision lights) would be ideally suited for LEDs.

I seem to remember reading a recent article about this in AVIONICS Magazine. Now that LEDs are available in most colours they are more likely available for more applications.

They would clearly be more reliable. For instance I have noticed how we rarely have to replace the switchlights in the B777 flightdeck (which make use of LEDs) compared to the incandescent switchlights in the B747 flightdeck.

Regards

Max

LightFantastic
2nd Oct 2002, 10:57