PDA

View Full Version : Min 5 year residency for FEDEX

run
30th Sep 2002, 17:39
Is it only FEDEX that requires you stay in the US for 5 years before applying or does other airlines do the same ?

I am a Danish military pilot that has been stationed in US for the last 3 years with one more year to go. I am married to an American and I was planning on going civilian when my contract is up over here. My dilemma is now should I go back to Denmark and keep my well paid job and wait with applying till the airlines open up again in the US or should I quit my job and get a low paid flying job until thing look better ?
Obviously I have to stay if more Airlines than FEDEX start requiring any amount of occupancy.

MAJIC9
1st Oct 2002, 00:24
Get citizenship (you can 3 years after getting your GC through marriage).. then they should not be able to do much but take in your application :)

run
1st Oct 2002, 01:05
Citizenship doesn't make a difference in Fedex's case. They require that you have resided in the United States for the last five consecutive years (except for U.S. military assignments)

Johnny 7
1st Oct 2002, 15:33
Plus at the moment you can't operate anything over 12,500LBS MTOW unless you are a U.S. citizen .

run
1st Oct 2002, 23:24
Internal Joke ?

What do you mean ? I know several people that are not US citizens that does that.

Johnny 7
2nd Oct 2002, 18:47
Sorry , to clarify that restriction : A non-U.S. citizen cannot train for a type rating on an a/c with a mtow >12,499 LBS , unless already operating such a type prior to , I believe , May'02 . The FAA website details the restriction . There are no exceptions for ' greencard ' or other visa holders . This applies to both synthetic & actual flight training .

run
2nd Oct 2002, 19:19