PDA

View Full Version : Bernouli or Newton??

Speedy G
25th Jan 2001, 17:37
I'm sure this is a stupid question to be asking but I'm fed up of not getting a clear answer.

As a physics student I was taught initially that lift of a wing was caused by Bernouli's theory that the wing caused an area of low pressure above the wing and an area of high pressure below the wing, causing it to move from high to low and thus lift.

However I was later told that it was due to newtons third law that for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction, so the wing pushing down on the moving air causes the air to push back on the wing untill the forces become unequal and the wing lifts.

Both seem sensible - so which is it? Microsoft F.S 2000 explains it due to Bernouli with a cessna as the example.

Encarta and other text books explain it using Newton, but give large plains and an example.

Which one is commonly accepted as being correct - or are they both correct as they apply to different types of wings?

I am most confused, can anyone in Flight Training tell me what they have been told as it is most bemusing!

Cheers Speedy.

Token Bird
25th Jan 2001, 18:50
Trevor Thom PPL books say 'Bernoulli', though maybe it'll be like when we got to A-levels and found out that we'd been told a whole bunch of lies at GCSE. Perhaps when we get to CPL level they'll say 'Newton',

Token Bird

Willy Jazz the cans 2
25th Jan 2001, 19:06
Bernouli :)

If you haven't done already, why don't you just post this in the Tech Log Forum?
I'm sure you'll all the anwers in there........not sure if I'll be able to understand them though!
------------------
I'm on my way!

[This message has been edited by Willy Jazz the cans 2 (edited 25 January 2001).]

foghorn
25th Jan 2001, 19:49
Both are right! They complement each other.

Bernoulli describes lift in terms of pressure and flow velocity.
Newton can be used to describe it in terms of force and momentum.