PDA

View Full Version : Routes to Airline Flight - 14yr Old PPL Student

Pilotz
23rd Jan 2001, 00:39
Hi

My names Simon meston and im currently training for my PPL at LBA (MultiFlight)

I am seeking some advice On the available routes into commercial Airline flight

I am now farely keen to enter the Air Force Upon gaining my PPL (at 17) and Gaining the required qualifications

Is this a good way to Start the long road to Airline Flight ?
Do airlines favour previous Fighter Pilots ?

Also if anyone has any idea ... Will the holding of a Valid PPL provide me with a greater chance of acceptance into the Air Force Jet Training Schemes ?

Many thanks for any Help anyone may be Able to Offer me

Yours ... Simon Meston

scroggs
23rd Jan 2001, 03:13
Simon,
welcome to aviation! There are many here who can give you advice about the civilian route to the airlines, but you did also ask about the military route - where I have some experience.
Firstly, you obviously have to jump the various hoops to get into the RAF (or RN - don't forget they fly fighters as well!). Your first priority should be to get the best GCSEs and A Levels that you can - and aim to get to University, where you would have the opportunity of joining a University Air Squadron. You should contact the RAF or RN now to obtain information about 6th form scholarships, university bursaries and cadetships, all of which give financial help in exchange for various levels of commitment to the services.
Obtaining a PPL isn't in itself a strong factor in your favour because it costs so much money. If you've raised that money through paper rounds, or evening and weekend jobs, however, that evidence of determination will stand you in very good stead.