PDA

View Full Version : How do I continue from here? Seeking advice

Yrgwyn
23rd Dec 2023, 16:40
Hello everyone.
My name is Ivan and I have just graduated from high school, exactly one week ago. I’ve graduated as an aeronautical technician and aircraft maintenance mechanic since I come from a technical high school. As additional information, I graduated as the best student of my class of 150 students and as a UAV pilot this year, and also currently hold an ICAO airplane private pilot license with exactly 54 flying hours.
My professional goal (and life-long dream) is to become an airline pilot, something excessively difficult in the country where I live (Argentina), where you could only dream of getting to the airlines with no less than 4000 flight hours logged if you’re not into politics or know someone influential in the industry.
So, being in the final phase of an EU citizenship application whose approval is imminent, I have set my sights on the European market.
I do understand that my ICAO PPL license and my measly 53 hours are worthless in Europe and that I must do everything again in Europe, that being the reason why I have shortlisted three or four Ab-initio mentored cadet training programs, and would like to know your opinion on which one you’d choose if you were in my situation.
The shortlisted options are CAE’s generation EasyJet MPL course, BAA Training’s Vueling mentored ATPL(f) program, and Bartolini Air’s Ryanair mentored scheme. I have also considered AFTA’s Ryanair course, but I’m not that interested in it anymore given the very high cost of life in Ireland (something that is VERY important when you come from a country with an average wage of just USD 300).