PDA

View Full Version : Career change: Cat A and Self-study

nextural
19th Nov 2023, 08:16
Hi all,

I'm a robotics engineer offshore and wish to move into aircraft engineering. I don't have an apprenticeship - made the mistake of a uni degree instead - but have a year of Part 147 rotary maintenance experience logged under CAP 147.

It seems the most expeditious way forward is to self-study A modules and build 3 years experience, then go Cat B down the line. I keep reading about the Part 147 Cat A 6 month course but no organisation seems to offer it?

Would appreciate your thoughts - cheers!

MAC 40612
24th Nov 2023, 16:47
Hi all,

I'm a robotics engineer offshore and wish to move into aircraft engineering. I don't have an apprenticeship - made the mistake of a uni degree instead - but have a year of Part 147 rotary maintenance experience logged under CAP 147.

It seems the most expeditious way forward is to self-study A modules and build 3 years experience, then go Cat B down the line. I keep reading about the Part 147 Cat A 6 month course but no organisation seems to offer it?

Would appreciate your thoughts - cheers!

Are you wanting to move into the rotary wing side of things or fixed wing? Any particular place in the UK you want to be? Do you want to actually go into a 'hands-on' role or a support role?

There is definitely a shortage of aircraft engineers in the UK at the moment, which has been highlighted even more now that the UK has left EASA, making it harder for UK firms to recruit, as the large pool from Europe has all but dried up.