PDA

View Full Version : Pilots and Female Siblings

5 Left & Right
1st Sep 2002, 11:38
I'm a pilot with 2 female children. My Instructor had 4 girls. Various work colleges (pilots) all have mostly girls.

Is it something in the avgas fumes?

Or perhaps some kind of solar radiation killing the boy sperms?

Does anyone know if this is more than just a co-incedence?

Serious now....

alidad
1st Sep 2002, 16:11
Daughters are god's way of paying back boy pilots for all the nasty things they did to other men's daughter's when they were single and fancy free. ;)

Capt Claret
1st Sep 2002, 23:31
5 L&R,

I worked some time ago with a female radio tech and recall having a conversation with her on this very subject, progeny not sibblings. :D

All of her colleagues, as best I can remember, had female off- spring. The reason was put down to so much time spent in a radar environment. I'm not too sure if it was Wx radar, terminal radar, or both, that is thought to render the male sperm less successful in the quest for fertilisation.

Chimbu chuckles
2nd Sep 2002, 01:32
A quick think about my the ratio of boys to girls in my peer group shows a heavy preponderance of girls.

We are producing a veritable smorgosboard for the current male teen youth:(

However my father, who's career in flying started in 1950, had 3 boys/1 girl...my mothers brother who has never been flying other than as occassional pax had 4 girls...my fathers brother had 3 girls.

Oh to be 20 again:D

Chuck.

5 Left & Right
2nd Sep 2002, 01:58
I stand corrected progeny not siblings - Thanks

5 L&R

Capt Snooze
2nd Sep 2002, 02:13
Reduced pressure environment!

Similar anecdotal evidence has professional divers with male offspring.

Snooze :) :)

greybeard
2nd Sep 2002, 03:35
For alidad.

Well said indeed, they are the most expensive items on the budget from day one until in my case 30+++, BUT I wasn't bad in my youth????

:p

*Lancer*
2nd Sep 2002, 04:09