PDA

View Full Version : Engineering vs flying professionally

AeroQuixotic
24th Jun 2023, 18:30
I am writing this post because I am in a dilemma right now. I am studying Mechatronics Engineering in a university in Istanbul, Turkey and am about to graduate in two weeks. I can try to seek an engineering job in the very cutthroat dog-eat-dog industry of Turkey, or could enter the Turkish Airlines Cadet academy.

Some background : I am sure most of you are already aware of the state of Turkish economy right now. For the past 5 years, the average inflation rate has been around 100%, going up to 180% in some years. 1 kg of ground beef was 10 liras in 2018 and is about 400 liras right now. You can pretty much guess how much did the salaries increase in the same period :) Our dictator is trying to keep unemployment low by artificially lowering the interest rates and offering state backed loans but it's a Ponzi scheme that will collapse sooner or later.

Turkey is not a very R&D oriented, high added value economy, so good engineering jobs are far and few in between, and competition for them is very high, and nepotism is rampant. The remaining engineering jobs are more akin to glorified technician jobs that overwork you and pay you a tad above the minimum wage. Work environments are usually toxic, job security is nonexistent, and since employers know that if you get fired you will probably not find another job soon enough to keep your tummy full, they treat you like they are the God's gift. Of course I could try to go for a Master's degree in the USA/Canada/Australia/Europe and try to legally cement myself there as an engineer, but immigration is a very financially and mentally draining affair and is actually pretty difficult and high risk as well.