PDA

View Full Version : Which flight sim?

Aviationpassion
12th Mar 2023, 09:41
Hi everyone,

I would like to start training at home on the 737.
I am a complete beginner and looking for what would be the best and most realistic.

Which one would you advice? Flight simulator, or x plane for instance?
Curious to hear about your feedbacks.

Thanks a lot !

Speed_Trim_Fail
12th Mar 2023, 11:46
I assume you are prepping for a TR.

Get the cockpit companion, get familiar with systems, memory items and limitations. Sit with your company OMB, chair fly and learn your SOPs and triggers.

You will achieve a lot more, and get into far fewer bad habits, by learning the aeroplane and polishing your SOPs with a “cardboard bomber” (cockpit poster) than you ever will with a flight sim. It is the company TRI/TREs and LTCs who will train you, trying to teach yourself at home on a flight sim for anything other than procedural IR stuff is often more of a hindrance than a help.

Less Hair
12th Mar 2023, 12:24
Learn from the real regulations and procedures not from some simplified or possibly plain wrong gaming version regardless of how "pro" they claim to be. For the practical flying part glider flying might be an excellent and affordable introduction. When you do your sim ride be ready to listen to their advice and don't stick to things the way you did them. They want to see you do things their way.

The Boeing 737 Technical Site - Home Page (http://www.b737.org.uk)

Aviationpassion
12th Mar 2023, 17:06
Thanks a lot for feedbacks.
But I wanted more advise on which sim to pick :)

Thanks again.

Speed_Trim_Fail
12th Mar 2023, 17:41
You’ve asked for advice multiple times from airline pilots and had replies from folks who have flown or are currently flying the aircraft you mention. Some of us have done multiple type ratings and also instructed.