PDA

View Full Version : 1969 documentary on the coming "Jumbo Age"

25F
12th Mar 2023, 00:42
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p041byzm/tuesday-documentary-jumbo
Fascinating stuff.

washoutt
12th Mar 2023, 09:50
Alas, not for man in the common world, only for the Brits.

India Four Two
13th Mar 2023, 08:46
Alas, not for man in the common world, only for the Brits.

YouTube comes to washoutt's rescue :ok:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhvqEwveBv4

Click "Quote" if you can't see the link.

washoutt
13th Mar 2023, 09:42
Thanks, India, We are once more part of the family of Man.
Interesting documentary. As a student, I saw the prototype 747 at the Le Bourget airshow in 1969, with my friends. We were flabbergasted by the sheer size of the airplane. Many years later, I was involved in the certification of the 747-400, and I thought when looking at it: "Mwah" . Ah, lost youth...

longer ron
13th Mar 2023, 09:49
Thanks for posting 25F
Interesting little documentary and some nice viewing during the emergency slide practice ;),mini dresses definitely get my vote for appropriate apparel :ok:
I used to be a young and shallow young man - now I am older and shallow :)

India Four Two
13th Mar 2023, 16:25
A fascinating time capsule.

So much speculation about future travel and so little of it came to pass.

longer ron
13th Mar 2023, 16:41
Indeed IFT - although some of the baggage handling tech did evolve into something like the systems in use now.

India Four Two
13th Mar 2023, 17:00
longer ron,

Very true, but I did laugh at the prediction of not having to wait at baggage carousels!

I was also amused by the dour predictions of the head of BALPA (Captain Speaking?) who was obviously thinking ahead to the pay negotiations with BOAC!

longer ron
13th Mar 2023, 19:16
longer ron,

Very true, but I did laugh at the prediction of not having to wait at baggage carousels!

!