PDA

View Full Version : Specific question regarding ADD/ADHD

Bronso1994
10th Dec 2022, 10:17
Hi,

As you can see I'm posting in the 'wannabe' forum and am new. I am an aspiring pilot.

I would like to know: Will an actual diagnosis of ADHD be in itself a disqualification to pass a medical test in order to become a pilot?

I will be having a diagnostic assessment soon to determine as to whether I have ADHD (which I know that I have) but please note that my potential ADHD diagnosis is lacking in the hyperactive side ie. Technically I have ADD but that diagnosis has been scrapped and is no longer accepted by mental health proffessionals, instead ADD has sadly been replaced as 'ADHD' which can be extremely misleading for people who are ignorant or who do not know anything about the disorder.

Additionally, I also have high-functioning autism, yet am a very capable person.

Clear, up-to-date, practical answers AND advice would be very much appreciated!

Thank you so much

parkfell
11th Dec 2022, 09:31
You need to discuss this with your GP or contact your local AME. The CAA website will list AMEs by postcode/area.
The medical section on PPRuNe would probably be the better forum.

Bronso1994
11th Dec 2022, 09:45
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I didnt see a medical section. I will try and post on there.

Thanks

B2N2
11th Dec 2022, 11:13
Wait wait WAIT with any official diagnosis till you are 100% aware of what the repercussions are for a Medical application.
I generally have faith in the medical profession but an overzealous act based on a borderline case can have permanent consequences.
I have a few colleagues that are socially akward if not outright inept, no doubt they could be diagnosed with something if you care to look long enough.
Fine pilots and alright to work with though.
Again, something that may be very benign and would never hinder you in ‘normal’ life and work situations can prevent you from a Class 1 Medical because of some archaic rule.